Leveler needed?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leveler needed?

Hi there! I'm new to the pano world and recently ordered the NN3 to do panoramas for the organization I work for. It's been a pleasure so far using the NN3, but I do have some occasional troubles that I believe the EZ leveler might fix. My problem is this: Occasionally, my panos will look level at one perspective, but, as I pan around the image, the horizon in the shot tilts. Continue panning and it might level back out, then tilt again before arriving back at the beginning of the image.

I think my issue might be the tripod I'm using (photo attached). I was told that the NN3 would work with any tripod, but I see most panographers using what looks to be a tripod without a head that pans and tilts. My tripod head has a bubble level, but so does the NN3. Before I begin shooting, I try to make sure both bubbles are level (prioritizing the NN3 bubble), but I notice the NN3 bubble moves from center as I move the camera around the scene.

Will an EZ leveler correct the issue I'm having?

As you can imagine, the tripod I'm using also makes for a messy situation with editing out the nadir. Any helpful tips for minimizing that would be helpful.

Thank you,

Zach
    This is (generally) how my NN3 sits on my tripod. I needed to mock it for the purposes of this photo. There would be a plate mounted to the bottom of the NN3.

EZ leveler is good to have but not a must.
    Use tripod with smaller shoulder and head will help to reduce the nadir footprint.
    Nick
    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.

Comment

Hey Zach - welcome to the forum.