Advice choosing between M1 and M2 (or NN4?) please

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Advice choosing between M1 and M2 (or NN4?) please

Share/Bookmark
  1. Advice choosing between M1 and M2 (or NN4?) please

Greetings all,

Although I am very new to pano's, I'm going to take the plunge and pick up either an M1 or M2 this week. I'm having trouble deciding between the two (largely due to my lack of knowledge and experience), but, because I don't want to buy something inadequate and then have to reinvest in a few months, I'm trying to get it right on the first go-round. I would also like to say how much it has impressed me to find the head of the company posting here - this was a big factor in my choice to go with Nodal Ninja.

My intended goal is to shoot HDR and, (primarily) two types of pano:

-conventional, high detail panoramas of landscapes, cityscapes, etc. [edit: When I say "high detail", I'm not talking about dozens of images, or anything resembling the 1,500+ exposure image on the aircraft carrier that is used as an example here. - I'm talking, say, 20 exposures max.]

-high detail vertical panoramas of the milky way which also incorporate some sort of terrain feature at the bottom. If any of you are familiar with an award winning pano called "Celestine Prophecy" by Aaron Feinberg (winner of an Epson pano award), then you have a good idea of the sort of thing I'm interested in attempting. (Those of you who might be able to look at that photo and make an educated guess as to the lens and type of tripod head (and other tools?) used, as well as total number of exposures, I would be grateful for your analysis. To me, much of Feinberg's work looks to be HDR, and I find myself going back and forth wondering what sort of technique he could have used to achieve "Celestine Prophecy".)

Link to the above image: http://www.afeinbergphotography.com/...stin-prophecy/