Ultimate M1-L or S

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ultimate M1-L or S

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

  1. Ultimate M1-L or S

    #1

    Hi there guys,

    I'm looking at purchasing either the M1-L or M1-S... but I'm a little confused. I currently have the NN3 II but I like the idea of the quick release and the better strength of the M1 (my NN3's vertical rail sags a bit sometimes).

    The thing is, I like the short horizontal rail of the M1-S (160mm is plenty) but I want the longer vertical rail of the M1-L (also it looks stronger and less likely to sag). However, it doesn't appear possible to get this combination unless I get both larger rails? I don't want a larger horizontal rail because it will just take up more space and won't be useful.

    However, I noticed in the 'includes' section that lower rail and upper rail are interchangeable. Does this mean that I could essentially use the 170mm upper rail as the lower rail, and use the 210mm lower rail as the upper rail? Would there be any trade off for doing this?

    Thanks,
    David
  2. #2
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    Hi and welcome to the forum,

    You can not change the rails in between M1-S and M1-L. The rails of the M1-S only have one row of dovetails while the rails of M1-L have two rows.

    MFR210 and MFR170 are interchangeable in use on the M1-L. So you can use the MFR170 as lower or upper rail and visa versa.

    You can also get a 160mm rail for the M1-L. http://shop.nodalninja.com/ultimate-...l-160mm-f8250/
    Ask your reseller if you can change the rails in your standard packet.

    Feel free to ask.

    Heinz

    Please fill in your country flag so we get to know which would be your closest reseller.
    Last edited by hindenhaag; 06-07-2014 at 06:22 AM.
  3. #3

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    Hi and welcome to the forum,

    You can not change the rails in between M1-S and M1-L. MFR210 and MFR170 are interchangeable in use on the M1-L. So you can use the MFR170 as lower or upper rail and visa versa.

    Heinz
    Thank you! So I think the M1-L will be a much better option, because it will let me use a shorter horizontal rail and a longer vertical rail, is that correct? This will suit my 5D Mk iii (which is only 43mm from the tripod mount to the centre of the lens mount). However, I would still be limited by the 170mm rotator rail. If I understand this correctly, to work out the maximum length of lens I could use, I would subtract 40mm for the distance from the tripod mount to the lens mount. This leaves me with 130mm from the lens mount to the entrance pupil?
  4. #4
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    Here are some basics:

    http://www.easypano.com/forum/displa...1&TopicID=4162
    http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm
    http://wiki.panotools.org/Entrance_Pupil_Database
    Look for the lens you want to use and add L1 + L2 to find your NPP.
    http://www.frankvanderpol.nl/fov_pan_calc_de.htm
    http://www.vrwave.com/panoramic-lens-database/canon/

    Now you have all the info to find out about NPP on the rail, how many shots you have to take per row, best settings for the pano.

    Hope this helps you on the road,
    Heinz
    Last edited by hindenhaag; 06-07-2014 at 07:28 AM.
  5. #5

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    Now you have all the info to find out about NPP on the rail, how many shots you have to take per row, best settings for the pano.

    Hope this helps you on the road,
    Heinz
    Hi Heinz.

    Thank you very much for your quick replies. I don't really need to know how to work out the NPP though, I already know how to do that. What I'm asking is how much reach the rotator rail would allow me in reality, and unless I missed something, I don't think the links can tell me that.

    The rotator rail is 170mm, but does that mean I can actually position the camera's tripod mount 170mm away from central rotation of the head? I imagine that some of the rail would be lost to the quick release clamping system, but how much distance is lost exactly? Without knowing this, I cannot know for sure if my camera could be positioned far enough back.
  6. #6

    Take a look at these photos of the ends of the upper rail (a 210mm rail + 5DII camera plate in this case):

    http://ge.tt/9wBDRPj1/v/0?c .

    At the rotator, you lose 25mm. At the other end, the loss is 6mm. I expect the 5DIII isn't much different.

    Edit: Oops, the photo shows the camera plate upside down!

    John
    Last edited by John Houghton; 06-07-2014 at 11:00 AM.
+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts