Recommended loadout for beginning pole work

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Recommended loadout for beginning pole work

Share/Bookmark
  1. Recommended loadout for beginning pole work

    #1

    Looking to start working on a pole, and I have the following equipment I use (tripod):
    RS-1 with lens clamp for Nikon D800 with Sigma 8mm.
    RD5 Rotator

    Based on what I already have, to get started with a Series 2 upper pole, would I be correct in thinking I need:

    1. Quick Mount Mini Adapter System (F7154)
    2. Pole Foot Plate (F7155)

    The weight of the Nikon D800/Sigma8mm seems to be ok for the pole weight limit, but is the RS-1 a suitable head for pole top work?

    And, is there anything else I need, or that is not-optimal about this proposed setup, or would other pieces/parts/equipment work better?

    Thanks for any assistance! I thought I would ask for advice before I pull the trigger on an order.

    Thank you,
    Shatty
  2. #2
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,734

    RS-1 is suitable for top of pole.

    You need a leveller for the pole.

    Heinz
  3. #3

    Thanks...adding one "Pole - External Level for Fanotec Pole 2 (F7151)" unless there's something else you recommend.
  4. #4
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,734

    Hi be careful. The external level for Fanotec Pole 2 works on the lower base of the pole two unit. I dare to say order external level for pole 1 unit in this case. Upper unit of pole 2 is thinner than the base, like pole1.

    Bill, Nick?

    Can he use the leveler for pole 1 on upper unit of pole two?

    Heinz
    Last edited by hindenhaag; 04-15-2013 at 07:45 AM.
  5. #5
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,366

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    Hi be careful. The external level for Fanotec Pole 2 works on the lower base of the pole two unit. I dare to say order external level for pole 1 unit in this case. Upper unit of pole 2 is thinner than the base, like pole1.

    Bill, Nick?

    Can he use the leveler for pole 1 on upper unit of pole two?

    Heinz
    Yes, you can mount the Pole 1 Level on Pole 2 Upper. But when the lower unit is used you need to be 3 meter tall in order to read the level. :-)

    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  6. #6

    Thanks! Yall really confused me, so I bought one for each series pole. ;)
  7. #7
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,734

    So now you are equipped for the future.

    Pole 2 leveler go to the lowest part of the pole which is thickest. Pole 1 leveler is thinner, that's why it works with Pole2 upper unit, which has a similar diameter.

    Heinz
  8. Thanks

    #8

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    So now you are equipped for the future.

    Heinz
    Thank you, everyone, for your help! Order is placed waiting for fulfillment!
+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts