Nikon 10.5? 10-24? Tokina fisheye zoom?

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Nikon 10.5? 10-24? Tokina fisheye zoom?

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

1. Nikon 10.5? 10-24? Tokina fisheye zoom?

I am just getting into this and need to buy a NN and lens for my D300S.

The lens most often referenced is the Nikon 10.5 fisheye. It seesm to me that the Nikon 10-24 or Tokina 10-17 would give me the super wide field needed for VR 360s and offer the versatility for longer zooms for longer pans as well.

Is there a reason the Nikon 10-24 won't work for VR 360s?

The Nikon 10-24 will work for 360x180 panoramas, but as it's a rectilinear lens, you'll need to take many more shots than with a 10mm fisheye (17 instead of 8). See lens data at http://www.vrwave.com for shooting recommendations. (The Sigma 10-20mm will serve, as the Nikor lens is not explicitly listed). The Tokina 10-17mm fisheye is a good lens and is probably the most useful. The quality at 10mm is marginally less good than the Nikon 10.5mm fisheye, and the Nikon lens has a wider maximum aperture. Choices are never simple.
    John

Thanks John.

I was told that If I cut off the shade on the 10.5 that I wont have to do a zenith shot. Is that correct? if so, is the top of the image just as sharp as if I did a zenith shot?

David, Cutting the shade off the 10.5mm will make no difference at all, since it's a fullframe fisheye on a D300S, already using all of the frame. It only makes a difference on a full frame camera such as the D3S or D7000.

John

ok, thats makes more sense.

It might have been the same person that told me that the 10.5 shaved will do a full 180 view with no need for a zenith or nadir shot (take tripod out in ps) Is that true with the 10.5 on an D300 or only on a full frame camera?
    Last edited by Davidk; 12-18-2011 at 11:11 AM.

The fov of the 10.5mm fisheye on D300 (1.5 crop factor) is only 139° x 87°
    John
    Users Country Flag

David,