Is a Modular Head preferable for my equipment ?

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Is a Modular Head preferable for my equipment ?

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

1. Is a Modular Head preferable for my equipment ?

Hi!

I've been using my NN3 for almost 5 years now, improving it with the RD16 rotator. I still do my full spherical panos with my 350D + Canon 10-22, but I would now like to use my 7D, which, of course is to heavy for the NN3.

So here's the question. Do I need an Ultimate Modular Head or would the NN4 be precise enough? I would almost only be using a new NN head for a 7D + 10-22, and maybe get, later, a fisheye (and, who knows, a 5D Mk x). So I'm not someone who will often be changing the settings on the pano head. I would prefer to leave the grip on my 7D, but could this be the only reason to get the Ultimate Head?

I'm sorry if you got similar questions, but I looked through the forum, was a bit lost with all the different threads and didn't find the info I needed (or maybe didn't understand everything). Besides the weight capacity and efficiency for setting modifications, what could decide me to get an Ultimate rather than a NN4?

Thank you!

Why would the 7D be too heavy?
    I still use my 5D MarkII with my old NN3 + the very light RD4 rotator when I do not want to carry too much.

The 5D is 810gr The 7D 820gr
    But of course if you really want to use the grip for panoramas you need something different.
    Hans

Quote Originally Posted by AlchomK View Post
    Hi!
    I've been using my NN3 for almost 5 years now, improving it with the RD16 rotator. I still do my full spherical panos with my 350D + Canon 10-22, but I would now like to use my 7D, which, of course is to heavy for the NN3.