Samyang 8mm FE on R10

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Samyang 8mm FE on R10

Share/Bookmark
  1. Samyang 8mm FE on R10

    #1
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Location: Pasig City, Philippines
    Posts: 16

    I've just ordered the R10 set for -10 for Samyang 8mm FE. How do I set the Samyang in its NPP? Are there proven NPP points for this lens? I can't find them here: http://www.nodalninja.com/support/camerasettings.html Thanks.
  2. #2
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,414

    http://johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

    follow this tutorial. it is simpler to find the NPP than you thought.

    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  3. #3
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    As Nick mentioned, following John's tutorial, you will soon find it.

    For some background info you might like this:

    http://michel.thoby.free.fr/Fisheye_...the-pupil.html

    http://michel.thoby.free.fr/SAMYANG/...%20report.html

    www.panoguide.com/forums/tipsntricks/7284/

    What camera do you use?

    Regards,
    Heinz
    Last edited by hindenhaag; 08-03-2011 at 03:39 AM.
  4. #4

    The NNP for the Samyang 8mm fisheye is in line with the back of the lens hood.
    As Heinz has mentioned the information can be found on Michael Thoby's site @
    http://michel.thoby.free.fr/SAMYANG/Samyang_shaved.jpg
    and @
    http://www.hugha.co.uk/NodalPoint/Index.htm#Samyang

    Best regards, Hugh.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Samyang 8mm NNP.jpg
Views:	934
Size:	323.7 KB
ID:	241  
  5. #5
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Location: Pasig City, Philippines
    Posts: 16

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    As Nick mentioned, following John's tutorial, you will soon find it.

    For some background info you might like this:

    http://michel.thoby.free.fr/Fisheye_...the-pupil.html

    http://michel.thoby.free.fr/SAMYANG/...%20report.html

    www.panoguide.com/forums/tipsntricks/7284/

    What camera do you use?

    Regards,
    Heinz
    thanks guys for th input. i use a Canon 7D
  6. #6
    Users Country Flag badders's Avatar
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts: 349

    Set the Samyang to 0 degs tilt @ 22 on the R1. Here's a set of images I took with the Samyang 8mm on the R1 which includes how to use "viewpoint correction" in PTGUI to correct for the NPP offset when you tilt the R1 up/down:

    http://www.360tacticalvr.com/blog/?p=117

    UPDATE: Ooops! I just saw you have the R10... So I'm afraid you will still have a hole at the zenith even with 10 deg tilt up.... Plus you'll have to use John's tutorial to set the NPP which is exactly how I did it for the R1 anyway...
    Last edited by badders; 08-03-2011 at 09:03 AM.



    Badders
  7. #7
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Location: Pasig City, Philippines
    Posts: 16

    I've recently ordered the R10 and have it shipped to my cousin who was visiting the US to cut on shipping cost.
    He just got home from the business trip and I just received my order. I've ordered the R10 w/ an inner ring for Canon. When I inspected the items, I found out that the inner ring delivered was intended for Nikon/Pentax. I'm wondering if it will fit the Samyang 8mm FE which I intend to use for my panoramas. Are they interchangeable? There were other wrong items delivered but I'll send a separate email for that. Any advise? Thanks in advance.
  8. #8
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    Because there are two different rings for Samyang 8mm for Nikon /Canon mount, I believe they will be different. Nick has to answer this to be secure.

    May I ask you where did you order? I have this problem in NL too. I am just "finetuning" the biggest Nodal Ninja Reseller. In the meantime they listen to me and change mistakes on their website concerning wrong photos or text for new M1 line: The pic of the vertical rail had the text : upper / lower rail 170mm. MFR170 had the text :upper/vertical/lower rail. I called them by phone last time to be sure to get the right equipment MFR 210 and QRC 65 mm.

    Anyway this is a problem for guys like you who do not have a reseller nearby. A lot of time and money to spend. But I would like to ask you to send a report to Bill. He always likes to get to know about such mistakes.

    Since a longer time I receive my equipment in a nice blue Fanotec box with stickers on it:Lens Ring for NIKON AF 16mm f/2.8 D. Before it often came in Bubbled plastic bags with rare stickers on it, hand written. The problems arise, when the resellers open up the boxes to show it to the client and mix things around placing it back.

    Sorry for you, but at the end, once you have the right equipment in hands, you will be happy with it. But I hate something like this too!!!!

    We'll try to help you with further questions.

    Regards,
    Heinz
  9. #9
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Location: Pasig City, Philippines
    Posts: 16

    Thanks Heinz. I think I have to wait for Nick's reply. I've ordered online through NN's store. We have a reseller nearby but does not keep stocks of the other items being offered by Fanotec. They usually have stocks of NN3 MkII (which I already own) beng sold as package, but they do not keep stocks of small parts for the different Fanotec pano heads. But I understand why, it's not a business-friendly practice.
+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts