Help choosing head for Nikon D700

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help choosing head for Nikon D700

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

1. Help choosing head for Nikon D700

Hi

I'm new to stitching. I've done a little research and I think a Nodal Ninja head would suit me as they are relatively compact, lightweight and affordable. I just need some help in choosing the right head.

Objective: To use a Nikon D700 to shoot high resolution images to match the quality of the best medium format backs (e.g. P65) or scanned 4"x5" film.

Subject Matter: Urban Landscape, Architecture, Interiors

Aspect Ratio of final image: 4:5 or 2:3. (I'm not interested in panoramas)

Focal length: The final stitched image will have a wideangle field of view, somewhere between 20mm and 35mm on a single 35 frame. (Nothing ultra-wide)

Current equipment: Nikon D700, Manfrotto tripod, Manfrotto 3 way head, Nikon manual focus primes (20, 24, 28, 35, 50, 85). I intend to use one of the wide angle lenses to create a master, single-frame reference shot, and then the 50 or 85 to create a spherical stitch (I think that's the word (?) - 2 or more rows, with the camera vertical).

Software: I'm looking at Autopano Pro and PTGui. I'm on a mac.

Quick Release: In general I like to use QR plates for speed of operation. I juggle between the Manfrotto system (rectangular plates) and Kirk (arca style).

I hope this is enough info for some advice.

Thanks in advance.

Elliot

Hi Elliot - welcome to the forum.
    You would need to step into the NN5 series or newer modular series due out end 2010. Unless you change lenses or shoot at different focal lengths frequently (which would require changing the click stop interval) you can get by with the NN5Lx Starter Pkg - these are factory irregulars (very minor cosmetic flaws) for only $294.

This model uses standard rotator with interchangeable click stop rings. It's not a big deal to swap out rings as shown in this video: