Camera Height

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Camera Height

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

1. Camera Height

When shooting single row 360 degree panos for real estate tours, what is the best height to shoot at? Eye level with 8 foot ceiling just doesn't seem quite right. Is there a rule about this?

My lens is a sigma 10-20mm that I set at 10mm.

I'm trying to read as much as I can to learn, but I end up so overwhelmed. I'm new at this so thanks for any help you can offer.

Julie
  2. Re: Camera Height

I'm 6'6" and I'm not very diplomatic on adhering to "standards" when shooting... I shoot at my eye level, and that's it. I'm not much for bending and breaking my back, just to get some interior shots

But I understand the concerns there are in regard to shooting height. For homes it seems to make sense to many, that the shooting height is that of a person sitting at a dining table... that's a "comfortable view" most people have no problem with at all. In a standard ceiling height home (8' / 2.44 m), it would be just around half the height towards the ceiling: 4 ft /122cm. Maybe a couple of inches above that, but not much more.

3. Re: Camera Height

Users Country Flag

Here in Los Angeles, the building code puts residential doors at about 6'6". My head barely clears that. I put the lens at 3'3" to 3'9" high. When you view my panoramas, there will be equal parts ceiling and floor when viewed at 0 degrees pitch.

Whatever height gets equal parts ceiling and floor, that would be my recommended height. Any higher or lower just does not look right.
  4. Re: Camera Height

Heck... I just made myself bigger with that typo. I'm only 6'4" (196cm) ..... but that has been reason enough to smack my head into hundreds of ceiling rafts and door frames and light fixtures etc. while living in Denmark, where older houses are often designed for Hobbits.... or so it felt most of the time.