How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 36

Thread: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

Share/Bookmark
  1. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #16

    Yes but how can you shoot like this, I just wonder if anyone knows a cable that has a different angle for this purpose

    Here is a photo

    Erik
  2. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #17

    No sorry my mistake it cannot be angled as the camera will hit the bracket, silly me

    Erik
  3. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #18
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,365

    Quote Originally Posted by erikhoffman View Post
    No sorry my mistake it cannot be angled as the camera will hit the bracket, silly me

    Erik
    Try this.
    Tilt R1 down by 65 deg and reverse mount the lens ring on the QR clamp so that your camera point 65 deg up. It should be able to cover the zenith.


    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  4. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #19

    No No No this may be possible but not in this case

    I could not stitch it in PTGUi I have to have the full 90deg or about, so lets wait until I get the new adaptor finished

    By the way Nick is it at all possible to replace one of the unused snib (I only use 6 and 3 clicks) and make it longer so we can use it as a lock - wondefull idea!!

    And with the lead for the remote trigger I will make a new one myself which is flat and have a different insertion angle - I will report to you when done

    Erik
  5. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #20
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,733

    Erik,

    you can use the dawntech di-GPS Pro L for D3x, it has a short cable which comes from the flash shoe and connects upright down without standing out. You can connect the remote on top of the GPS. I use this myself and i am pleased with it. Keeps last data when you go indoors.

    www.dawntech.hk. Don't know if it is available in UK, i got mine in NL.

    Heinz
  6. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #21

    Well thats great Heinz if you want to spend $300.00 on a trigger

    I will find out who sell a remote with s different angle connector like on the GPS

    Thanks

    Erik
  7. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #22
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,733

    Erik,

    might be this is the one we have to get.....http://dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.8173
  8. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #23
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,733

    Sorry,

    think this is with a curved contact as well, miss interpreted the pictures

    Heinz
  9. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #24

    Hi Heinz

    Finally got a couple of leads from DawnTech in Hong Kong and they are perfect, so thanks for your link

    See the attachment for connection to a stereo Jack

    Regards

    Erik

  10. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #25
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,733

    Hi Erik,

    thx for letting us know.

    Heinz
  11. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #26

    I have the same problems with the Z and the N picture.
    So i work with 0 degree for the horizontal pictures (6 stops). OK, the Z is -90 up and it works out. But for the Nadir-picture i found no solution. 65 degree down are not enough. What can i do?
  12. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #27

    Yes for the Nadir is a problem but there are 2 solutions

    1/ If the ground is very simple, clone the it in Photoshop and patch it in Pano2VR

    2/ if it is not then when you drop the camera to the 65 deg position move the tripod away about a metre and a half
    That will give you a distorted photo of the ground, and to correct it you can do 2 things
    A/ in Lightroom 3 or CS5 there is a wonderful new lens correction - really amazing and it is automatic
    B/ Use PTLens it is cheap and very good

    Once corrected you can patch it in Pano2VR

    Erik
  13. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #28
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,365

    Quote Originally Posted by ZoliTeglas View Post
    I have the same problems with the Z and the N picture.
    So i work with 0 degree for the horizontal pictures (6 stops). OK, the Z is -90 up and it works out. But for the Nadir-picture i found no solution. 65 degree down are not enough. What can i do?
    YOu can reverse the camera direction after you take the zenith shot. This way you get -90 deg nadir shot.

    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  14. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #29

    Quote Originally Posted by nick fan View Post
    YOu can reverse the camera direction after you take the zenith shot. This way you get -90 deg nadir shot.

    Nick
    Hey Nick,
    reverse the cam direction? You mean lifting the tripod and reverse it?
    Best
    Peter
  15. Re: How do you take nadir and zenith shot with R1?

    #30
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,365

    Quote Originally Posted by ZoliTeglas View Post
    Hey Nick,
    reverse the cam direction? You mean lifting the tripod and reverse it?
    Best
    Peter
    remove the lens ring from the QR clamp. point the lens to the ground and put it back to the QR clamp again. tighten the clamp. That is it.

    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts