can't get the perfect nodal point

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: can't get the perfect nodal point

Share/Bookmark
  1. can't get the perfect nodal point

    #1

    i'm working with the D300+sigma 10-20
    and it seem that i have problem finding the exact nodal point

    what i'm doing wrong?

    i got the user guide that expalin how to fint the nodal pint and still i have problem stich my pano's

    Tanx

    Tamir
  2. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #2
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,386

    http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

    follow the above tutorial.

    Nick



    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  3. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #3

    Tamir, You supplied a set of images over on the PTGui forum and these stitched fine (after rotating the zenith shot through 180 degrees and deleting the many horizontal and vertical line control points). There was nothing to suggest that your panohead was not set up adequately. I uploaded my version of the PTGui project file for you to run yourself. So why do you still think you have a problem?

    John
  4. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #4
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Hong Kong
    Posts: 2,386

    Maybe try to correct the lens before stitching. This will make sure your lens parameters are correct.
    http://epaperpress.com/ptlens/
    download the software for a free 10 image trial


    Nick




    Fanotec
    We listen. We try harder.
  5. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #5
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    For Sigma 10-20 4-5.6 try the following settings: 10 108, 14 110, 20 114.

    http://wiki.panotools.org/Entrance_Pupil_Database. You have to add to this measurements the distance of 46,5mm to the D300 from lense flange to sensor plane = 46,5mm, it is the same distance for all D models.

    Heinz
  6. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #6

    Tamir, Using the project of one third size images you provided, I applied pitch -90 with the numerical transform option and generated a view of the nadir area but without the nadir image included so that the tripod was visible and that did show some minor circular saw artifacts (see the tutorial that Nick mentioned):



    This indicates that the vertical arm was offset a little to the left (as viewed from the rear of the camera, with the vertical arm on your right). The vertical arm needs to be shifted right by maybe 1 or 2 mm to rectify that. Adjust the position until you get a clean circle.

    John
  7. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #7

    Tanx

    john - good to see you here to!

    i have cheecked the file that you upload and it's help me to understand my problem!

    now it's look ok!

    Tanx again

    Tamir
  8. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #8
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    What is the lower rail setting you used till now?

    Heinz
  9. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #9

    The Sigma 10-20mm zoom lens has a single Nodal Point (unlike fisheye lenses).
    At the 20mm end of the zoom the Nodal Point is at the Gold Ring
    At the 10mm end of the zoom the Nodal Point is 6mm behind the Gold Ring

    See:
    http://www.hugha.co.uk/NodalPoint/Index.htm#Results_

    Best regards, Hugh.

  10. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #10

    Quote Originally Posted by hindenhaag View Post
    What is the lower rail setting you used till now?

    Heinz
    lower rail: 66
    uper rail: 94

    in 10 mm
  11. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #11
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    Hi,

    use lower rail setting for D200/D300 with NN5w/CP-CP2 56 and NN3w/CP-CP2 of 60. D200 D300 use the same body, so the rail settings are the same. Try these settings and check with the stitch for hacksaw with the follwing

    link: http://www.easypano.com/forum/displa...1&TopicID=4162.

    You can also check the database on Home/Support/Camerasettings/Nikon.

    Heinz
  12. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #12

    ok

    i have solved the problem

    i had to calibrate my nodal point again.

    after shooting a new pano in my house i have to put a few more control points and optimiz the viewpoint of those pic's.

    thax all
    for helping me

    Tamir
  13. Re: can't get the perfect nodal point

    #13
    Users Country Flag
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Posts: 1,740

    Pleasure,

    and enjoy,

    Heinz
+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts