Blending 360 Panos?

Welcome to Nodal Ninja Forum

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Blending 360 Panos?

Share/Bookmark

Hybrid View

1. Blending 360 Panos?

I Have been demoing PTGUI and AutoPano. I have been using Hugin for a while. I'm also demoing Pano2VR.

I am new to 360 panos and I have a problem that I thought you might be able to help with. My goal is to create 360 HDR VR panos.

I'm using a canon 1d MKIII and a Tokina 10-17 fisheye set at 12mm on a NN 5. I shot 3 bracked images for each position.

My problem is that I have only found one way to do this and get a 360 VR that does not have a vertical seem where the two ends of the pano meet. If I use PTGui to stitch and do the HDR tone mapping there is no seem if I choose a Spherical 360x180 projection.

However if I ask PTGui to output the non-tonemapped hdr file and tone map the file in Photomatix I get a seem where the ends of the pano meet.

Also AutoPano's hdr output has a seem no matter what as does Hugin's. Seems like even the LDR panos I create with autopano or hugin have this seem. If I choose the 360x180 projection in PTgui there is no seem.

I woudl really like to be able to use Photomatix to tone map my HDR images as I have been using it for some time and I really like their interface and result.

So Am I stuck, do i have to blend this seem in photoshop?
  2. Re: Blending 360 Panos?

Hi Stuman,

i also have exactly the same problem.

my guess is the blending and hdr processing creates the transparent pixels at both edges of the image. I don't have a clue about how this could happen though....

You might want to flatten your final equirectangular hdr image before creating vr using pano2vr.

If the seam is still visible, you can try manually touching up both edges of your equirectangular image.
    In my case, i zoomed to 1600% or 3200% so that i can see where the pixels is nearly transparent (this is what causing the seam to be visible). Clone stamp-ing that area solved my problem just perfect...