How does one mount the R1/R10 adapter to the pole top plate? [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : How does one mount the R1/R10 adapter to the pole top plate?



clickclickclick
05-30-2013, 05:23 PM
This is probably the dumbest question this forum has seen in a while, but how does one do it? Should I remove the O-rings or should I leave them there and use the silver screws with the smallest thread diameter? If yes, how does one tighten the whole assembly, if not, how does one prevent the rotation of the R1/R10 adapter?

Also, is it possible to mount an arca-swiss clamp directly on top of the R1/R10 adapter?
Thanks,
Olivier

hindenhaag
05-30-2013, 09:36 PM
Hi,

The best way is to use the Quick Mount Mini System to mount the R1/R10 to the top. And yes, you have to use the silver screws on the clamp and take out the O rings to have a free Anti Twist System. The Anti Twist System, integrated to the whole System, will prevent it from turning around.

922923924925

http://shop.nodalninja.com/quick-mount-mini-adapter-system-f7154/

Heinz

nick fan
05-31-2013, 12:56 AM
This is probably the dumbest question this forum has seen in a while, but how does one do it? Should I remove the O-rings or should I leave them there and use the silver screws with the smallest thread diameter? If yes, how does one tighten the whole assembly, if not, how does one prevent the rotation of the R1/R10 adapter?

Also, is it possible to mount an arca-swiss clamp directly on top of the R1/R10 adapter?
Thanks,
Olivier

The R1/R10 pole adapter has 3/8" socket. you just mount it to the top of pole via the 3/8" male thread. You should install the o-rings to increase friction.
If you are using the Quick Mount Mini adapter, refer to Heinz's reply.

Nick

clickclickclick
05-31-2013, 08:36 AM
Thanks Nick and Heinz,

You both confirmed what I had guessed. The R1/R10 pole adapter is best mounted to the pole top plate when the O-rings are there (but then there is no anti-twist function, which is undesirable). So, the Quick Mount Mini is the way to go, it's a much better design. Plus, I think I can (optionally) mount on top of the Quick Mount Mini the quick release arca-swiss clamp used for the M1 (the clamp that mounts on the RD16 is compatible with the Quick Mount Mini, right?).

Olivier

nick fan
06-03-2013, 09:34 AM
yes, you can mount the QRC-55 on QM mini. But it enlarge the nadir footprint which is undesirable for pole.

Nick

clickclickclick
06-04-2013, 06:21 PM
Nick - true - but this only matters if one does spherical panos. Sometimes the pole can be used just as an elevated shooting platform for single shots, in which case it's really convenient to just clamp the camera on the pole. Hence my question regarding the QM mini and the QRC-55. It's really nice that your system is so flexible.

Olivier