PDA

View Full Version : just start out 360 panorama, why it come out not straight?



liukaitc
01-09-2013, 10:04 PM
hey. I am new to 360 panorama. right now I could not do it successfully.
please take a look of my pic. the vertical line is not straight. it is a mess. they all tilt to left I think.

I am using canon 7d + samyang 8mm fisheye + Nodal Ninja 4 + PTGui pro

I am taking 6 pic a row +1 up and 1 down and 1 for patch tripod

I do not know what is the problem. is this due to problem of calibrate head or the wrong way of shooting or ???

hindenhaag
01-09-2013, 10:31 PM
Please send the set of pic plus project file via www.ge.tt to test it.

Best way to help you.

Heinz

John Houghton
01-10-2013, 12:41 AM
You can level the panorama using vertical line control points to identify features that should be vertical in the output image. This takes less than a minute and is normally done during the stitching of the camera images, but you can also level an already stitched panorama in exactly the same way by starting a new PTGui project with the equirectangular image. See http://www.johnhpanos.com/levtut.htm .
.
John

nick fan
01-10-2013, 07:48 AM
hey. I am new to 360 panorama. right now I could not do it successfully.
please take a look of my pic. the vertical line is not straight. it is a mess. they all tilt to left I think.

I am using canon 7d + samyang 8mm fisheye + Nodal Ninja 4 + PTGui pro

I am taking 6 pic a row +1 up and 1 down and 1 for patch tripod

I do not know what is the problem. is this due to problem of calibrate head or the wrong way of shooting or ???

Have you tried "Straighten Panorama" in the Panoramic Editor?

Nick

liukaitc
01-10-2013, 07:15 PM
Have you tried "Straighten Panorama" in the Panoramic Editor?

Nick
hey, the straighten panorama does not work, but I tried level panorama. that works. seems now it looks fine

liukaitc
01-10-2013, 07:23 PM
right? take a look..
looks straight now.

hindenhaag
01-10-2013, 11:42 PM
Looks right now.

Now safe this project as Template in case you have a good max distance. Next time you stitch a new project, use apply template and check if it "falls together "with out great corrections. You find explanations under Help in general. You can also try F1 tab when you use a special part of the software.

Heinz

John Houghton
01-11-2013, 02:07 AM
hey, the straighten panorama does not work, but I tried level panorama. that works. seems now it looks fine
Assuming you used the Align Images button, the straighten function would make no difference to the panorama because the align images function already runs the straighten option by default. There is an important distinction to be made between straightening and levelling the panorama:
.
Straighten panorama: When you shoot a row of images using a panorama head, each image will be shot at the same pitch and roll settings - just different yaw angles. The straighten function rotates the panorama into a position that equalises the pitch and roll values of the images. Now these pitch and roll settings are relative to the vertical axis of rotation of the panorama head. So if the panorama head is perfectly levelled, with its axis truly vertical, the straightened panorama will also be level - i.e. the horizon will be level and straight, and the verticals will be vertical. If the panorama head is not exactly level, the panorama will not be level. The horizon will wave up and down and the verticals will not be vertical (as in your panorama).
.
Level panorama: This ignores the pitch and roll settings and rotates the panorama into a position where the vertical features marked with control points are properly vertical. In this state, the horizon will also be automatically flat and horizontal. (The converse also applies - get the horizon flat using horizontal line control points, and the verticals will be vertical).
.
Clearly the level panorama option is by far the most reliable method to use when there are good vertical features present in the image. For landscape subjects where there are no vertical features and the horizon is not clearly visible, then the straighten panorama option is invaluable, and it then pays to take extra care in levelling the panorama head. Another option is to level the camera itself for the first shot, and then fix its yaw, pitch and roll parameters at zero when the images are optimized.
.
John

liukaitc
01-11-2013, 06:50 AM
thanks for all the reply. help me understand the software a lot

liukaitc
01-12-2013, 09:34 AM
I see some disconnection on the line. is that a problem of calibration of head?

John Houghton
01-12-2013, 10:42 AM
I see some disconnection on the line. is that a problem of calibration of head?
It might be, or it might be the result of unskilled use of PTGui. The usual action to try is to manually assign additional control points in the area around the alignment error and then run the optimizer once more. Hopefully, the optimizer will be encouraged to align the control points and hence heal the break in the line.
.
John

liukaitc
01-12-2013, 12:14 PM
do I have to level tripod for taking every shot?
I find all those break line are from upper part, close to ceiling.

John Houghton
01-12-2013, 12:43 PM
do I have to level tripod for taking every shot?
You must not level the tripod between shots. That would cause the entrance pupil position to shift. If you care to upload the set of images somewhere, perhaps we could identify the cause of the misalignments. If you don't have private web space, you could use a free file sharing site such as http://www.ge.tt/ .
John

liukaitc
01-12-2013, 01:44 PM
yes, please take a look
I tried many times. still get break line some place
I uploaded
http://www.ge.tt/#!/4aBZEHV/v/0

John Houghton
01-12-2013, 03:20 PM
The reason for your images not stitching well is that you have not supplied them to PTGui all in the same orientation. Zenith and nadir are upside down. Turn off the auto rotate feature in the camera to avoid this problem in the simplest way. When the images are corrected, I got this result: http://ge.tt/4iKgVHV/v/0

John

liukaitc
01-12-2013, 03:39 PM
wow..your result is good.
let me try

John Houghton
01-13-2013, 02:43 AM
BTW - you have the camera set to auto white balance. You should set this to one of the fixed options (e.g. cloudy), or set the same custom white balance for all the images in the raw conversion. Note also that you can check the orientation settings of the raw images in Adobe Bridge by inspecting the metadata tab. (You may have to visit Preferences to select the orientation tag for inclusion in the metadata tab). Ensure images rotated into portrait all have the orientation set to -90. Upside down images would be +90.
.
John

liukaitc
01-14-2013, 02:09 PM
ok, thanks. I redo some, and now they looks pretty good.