PDA

View Full Version : New R1. The ring says it is for Nikon, but I have Canon. Can I use?



SanFranciscoPhotographer
11-02-2012, 03:12 PM
I just received my R1 in the mail. The lens ring says it is for the Sigma 8mm for Nikon, but I have the Sigma 8mm for Canon. Can I still use it, or do I need to replace? (The dimensions of the lenses are identical.)

Thanks,
Alex

hindenhaag
11-02-2012, 08:01 PM
Hi Alex,

http://www.nodalninja.com/qr/r1-r10/nodal-ninja-ultimate-r1-ring-mount-pano-head/17/

When you compare the inside of the plastic ring, the Nikon one has an extra small stop to flange side. So you have to change it, because it does not fit to canon version.

Good luck,
Heinz

Vincèn
11-03-2012, 12:26 AM
Alex,

Heinz is right, you need to exhcange it as it's not same ring and you might damage your lens by using wrong ring !!

Vincèn

robvg
11-06-2012, 01:16 AM
Checked the order and the lens ring ordered was the Sigma 8mm for the Nikon so the correct ring was sent. We are exchanging the lens ring for the Sigma 8mm for Canon at no cost to Alex.

SanFranciscoPhotographer
11-09-2012, 12:39 PM
Thanks guys, and thanks NodalNinja for doing the exchange so painlessly. You guys rock!