New Fanotec Pano Head NN RS-1 [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : New Fanotec Pano Head NN RS-1



Bill Bailey
10-12-2012, 02:32 PM
Fanotec's new Nodal Ninja RS-1 is now available for purchase.
http://store.nodalninja.com/index.php/pano-heads/nodal-ninja-rs1.html


http://store.nodalninja.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/r/s/rs_1_850.jpg


We'll be tweaking the listing a bit over coming days and adding option to purchase without rotator. If you need RS-1 without rotator let me know through email (bill_at_nodalninja_dot_com) and we can set you up.

Bill

Vincèn
10-14-2012, 01:44 AM
We can install R-D16II on it instead of mini-rotator if needed right ?

hindenhaag
10-14-2012, 04:22 AM
Hi Vincen,

I think so. Because Nick has designed the top of RD16 II with different sockets. Based of all his new designs he has in his head for future developments of the whole system. :th_wink:

Heinz

BTW.: Was a great pleasure to me to meet the basic of Fanotec Nodal Ninja Group People like Bill Bailey and his wife Kim, Nick Fan, his wife Sandy and their daughter Angie, Mauro Contrafatto, Vincen Pujol and former member of NN Andrew Badders at PTM Meeting at the Hague 2012 besides a lot of PTM Members as well personally. Joost from PTGui, his wife and their child communicating very well cause they use a similar dialect to Nick, Sandy and and their daughter Angie.
To meet Wim and his wife personally as well as some of my dutch Nodal Ninja Friends and users.
It is a great differences between mailing and meeting people personally.
Thx a lot to all of you. I enjoyed the meeting with all new informations as well as to meet the basic Fanotec Nodal Ninja Group personally.

So long, Heinz

Vincèn
10-14-2012, 05:44 AM
I think so. Because Nick has designed the top of RD16 II with different sockets. Based of all his new designs he has in his head for future developments of the whole system. :th_wink:
looks like you got same guess as me :) will check that in few days when I got an unit here in hand !

Vincèn

DennisS
10-14-2012, 09:25 AM
Does the "RS" in RS-1 stand for Really Small? It is nice to see a compact pano head for smaller cameras. Next step is the RRS-1 (Really, Really Small one) for smartphones.

Wim.Koornneef
10-14-2012, 10:50 AM
Hi guys,

For mounting the RS-1 spherical ring panohead on a RD rotator without M5 sockets you can use a R1/10 pole adapter and a M6x3/8" adapter,
http://store.nodalninja.com/index.php/nodal-ninja-ultimate-r1-r10-pole-adapter.html
http://store.nodalninja.com/index.php/m6-male-to-3-8-male-thread-adapter-for-advanced-rotators.html

Another option, my first choice, is to mount a mini-QM on the RS-1 (the outer part of the mini QM on the RS-1 and the inner part on the RD rotator).
http://store.nodalninja.com/index.php/quick-mount-mini-adapter-system.html

The advantage of using a mini-QM for mounting a RD rotator on a RS-1 panohead is not only the fast and easy switch of the RS-1 from the rotator on top of a pole but you also get a smaller footplate due to the larger distance between lens and the rotator.
With a mini-QM the footprint of a RD-4 rotator is even smaller then when using a mini rotator without mini-QM....

Wim

nick fan
10-14-2012, 11:12 AM
looks like you got same guess as me :) will check that in few days when I got an unit here in hand !

Vincèn

For use with RD16, one can opt for the NN3 lower rail. We should list this option soon.
NN RS1 can be mounted to RD8/16 via the QM mini adapter system. But this defeat the purpose of making a shorter rail for the NN RS1. :-)
Only do this if you want to use it on Fanotec pole as well.

Nick

m.waite
10-16-2012, 09:22 AM
Can the NN-RS1 with the shorter rail be mounted on a Fanotec pole?

Martin Waite

waters 60
10-16-2012, 09:26 AM
Nick:
Will the upper swivel unit be available separately? I would hope I can use my NN3 and swap out the upper arm with the swivel / clamp assembly, achieving easy ability to go between pole panos and tripod panos with my R10.

Tim

nick fan
10-16-2012, 12:25 PM
Can the NN-RS1 with the shorter rail be mounted on a Fanotec pole?

Martin Waite

Only with a Quick Mount Mini System or a pole adapter.

Nick

nick fan
10-16-2012, 12:28 PM
Nick:
Will the upper swivel unit be available separately? I would hope I can use my NN3 and swap out the upper arm with the swivel / clamp assembly, achieving easy ability to go between pole panos and tripod panos with my R10.

Tim

Not Recommended in General. We have some variation in different batches of NN3/ 3II. we can deal it unit by unit in person though. Email/PM me.

Nick

m.waite
10-18-2012, 09:19 AM
Which lens ring/insert will fit the Samyang 8mm f/2.8 (not f3.5) Fish-eye Lens with Fujifilm X-mount (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/876963-REG/Samyang_sy28fe8mbk_fx_8mm_f_2_8_Fish_eye_Lens.html )

Thank you


Martin Waite

nick fan
10-18-2012, 09:39 AM
Which lens ring/insert will fit the Samyang 8mm f/2.8 (not f3.5) Fish-eye Lens with Fujifilm X-mount (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/876963-REG/Samyang_sy28fe8mbk_fx_8mm_f_2_8_Fish_eye_Lens.html )

Thank you


Martin Waite

I will test it today.

Nick

nick fan
10-19-2012, 09:29 AM
Just bought a Samyang 8mm f/2.8 for X-mount, the current ring for Nex E-mount is not compatible. I will make an X-ount ring soon.

BTW, I don't have a camera. Can you measure the diameter of the x-mount for me? It helps to determine the best anchor point.
http://www.nodalninja.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=678&d=1350669146

Nick

m.waite
10-20-2012, 08:47 AM
Nick

The diameter is 55mm

Martin Waite

nick fan
10-31-2012, 08:15 AM
Nick

The diameter is 55mm

Martin Waite

Thx, Martin. The lens ring for samyang 8mm F2.8 X-mount should be available in US store early next week.


Nick

m.waite
11-05-2012, 10:05 AM
I have a Series 1 pole with a pole rotator and foot plate on the bottom and a Quick Mount Mini Adapter Plate on the top.

I want to mount a RS-1 without rotator to the top of the pole. Will the RS-1 without rotator mount directly to a Quick Mount Mini Adapter Clamp or do I need an some kind of adapter?

Thank you


Martin Waite

nick fan
11-05-2012, 11:07 AM
I have a Series 1 pole with a pole rotator and foot plate on the bottom and a Quick Mount Mini Adapter Plate on the top.

I want to mount a RS-1 without rotator to the top of the pole. Will the RS-1 without rotator mount directly to a Quick Mount Mini Adapter Clamp or do I need an some kind of adapter?

Thank you


Martin Waite

It mounts to anything R1/10 mounts. So QM mini and pole adapter are fine.

Nick

m.waite
11-05-2012, 05:12 PM
It mounts to anything R1/10 mounts. So QM mini and pole adapter are fine.

Nick

Do I need to order

QM mini or a pole adapter
or
both a QM mini and a pole adapter


Martin Waite

nick fan
11-05-2012, 07:46 PM
Do I need to order

QM mini or a pole adapter
or
both a QM mini and a pole adapter


Martin Waite

either one.

Nick

hindenhaag
11-05-2012, 11:00 PM
Martin,

With pole adapter the connection is fixed to top of pole. With QMM you can take off the whole RS1-S with camera mounted off top of pole, which I feel is the most comfortable and secure version. You have to change the lens ring position from normal position for R1 to another one for R1-S. Then the foot is mounted to the opposite side of Nikon white camera mount point on the lens. You can measure H for NPP as shown and add 6,5mm for reference offset point of large side of the vertical rail. So add H = lens axis to bottom of foot + 6,5mm = LRS on R1-S. Test with the well known tutorials.

Hope this helps a little bit.
Heinz

BTW: ©2012 Nodal Ninja

m.waite
11-06-2012, 08:20 AM
Martin,

With pole adapter the connection is fixed to top of pole. With QMM you can take off the whole RS1-S with camera mounted off top of pole, which I feel is the most comfortable and secure version. You have to change the lens ring position from normal position for R1 to another one for R1-S. Then the foot is mounted to the opposite side of Nikon white camera mount point on the lens. You can measure H for NPP as shown and add 6,5mm for reference offset point of large side of the vertical rail. So add H = lens axis to bottom of foot + 6,5mm = LRS on R1-S. Test with the well known tutorials.

Hope this helps a little bit.
Heinz

BTW: ©2012 Nodal Ninja

Thanks Heinz

Your pictures make the connection options very clear


Martin Waite

Nagoyajin
05-23-2013, 01:05 AM
With the ring mount systems like RS-1 it's not clear to me how to calibrate the upper rail setting. Does this mean that, based on the lens/camera combination the customer submits, the collar you ship requires no calibration by the customer? In other words, the customer only needs to calibrate the lower rail?

hindenhaag
05-23-2013, 07:00 AM
Hi,

It's calibrated like the R1 Series. There are inserts to be placed in the lens ring for different lenses which offer you the possibility to have a fixed point.

For example: http://www.nodalninja.com/qr/r1-r10/r1-npp-for-sigma-8mm-f35-canon-and-nikon/31/

There are a few settings, in case you like to use your Nex5 Dennis might help you with settings. But you have to test it on your own anyway.

911

Heinz

Nagoyajin
05-23-2013, 07:58 AM
Ok. I looked at the R1 manual and it looks like there is an adjustment, if I understand step 5 correctly. In this case, do you have to note your calibration setting and line it up every time you mount the lens to the quick release mount? If that's the case, it seems like it would be a risk if working in a hurry in dim lighting.

hindenhaag
05-23-2013, 10:35 AM
You can use a rail stop to do it in the dark or one of the inserts.
http://shop.nodalninja.com/stop-plate-arca-swiss-style-2ea-f2106/

Insert like this for example:
http://shop.nodalninja.com/ultimate-r1-r10-stop-plate-sigma-8mm-canon-mount-0-5-4-stops-f6108/

To adjust the panohead in the evening or even in the dark I bought myself an outdoor headlamp which let's me see everything I need.

Heinz

Nagoyajin
05-25-2013, 03:52 AM
How are the rail stops and stop plates installed? I'm trying to fully understand what I need so I can order what I need in one shipment.

hindenhaag
05-25-2013, 04:50 AM
Hi,

Railstops are placed on the footplate of the lens ring itself. This offers changing if you like to change your lens.

918919920

The stop plate will be placed below the footplate and gives fixed position. "LRS 35" in the picture is the number for the top plate your have to use with this certain lens ring. There is also a "universal" version shown by Nick. If you use this one, glue the parts to the stop plate when you have found your parts. I lost one of the parts because I did not glue them.

http://www.nodalninja.com/forum/showthread.php?5077-RS-1-upper-rotator&p=38342#post38342

Heinz