templates and control points [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : templates and control points



nostromo
06-11-2012, 03:35 PM
Hi everyone,
I want to make gigapixel panoramas, about 120 degrees hFOV.
My zero experience makes me ask this question:

Can I do without templates or sometimes there are situations when stitching is possible ONLY using templates? Like open sky or sea where control point cannot be found.

hindenhaag
06-11-2012, 09:25 PM
Hi,

PTGuiPro has the align to grid function. Go to >project in the top tab, you find align to grip.

http://www.ptgui.com/examples/creating_gigapixel_panoramas_with_a_robotic_panohe ad.html

Heinz

nostromo
06-11-2012, 11:53 PM
Thanks Hindenhaag!

So there is a way to stitch no control points images without templates.

hindenhaag
06-12-2012, 01:34 PM
You tell PTGui how many pictures you shot per row and how many rows are involved in those pics with blue sky for example. The pics are placed in a grid one after the other when you have told the program about the way you shot your pics.

You can download a trial to test the program.

See also www.Kolor.com : AutopanoGiga. Similar program to PTGuiPro. But this is not my personal favorite based on older versions of Autopano. At that time I decided to go for PTGui. But there are different updates of Kolor since then but I did not upgrade all of them. I prefered to have more control about the software instead of a lot of things happening automatically. So I did not test the latest versions. But you should give it a try as well.

Have a look to PTGui's information about "templates". This is a special term used to save data of a pano with minimum CP distance close to 1.0 for example trimmed by adding manual CP = Control Points or deleting bad ones. You can save this data to a "Template", and "Apply Template" stitching your next pano. This helps PTGui to find Control points automatically.

Heinz