NN4 vs M1!!! [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : NN4 vs M1!!!



Vedder
06-10-2012, 07:35 PM
Hi all! I work with a NN3 (old) at -15 , Nikon D7000 and Nikon 10.5mm. I want to change the NN3! Which is better for the equipment I have? The NN4 or M1? What differences have these? What is the difference between M1-L and M1-S?

I appreciate your support!

Vedder

nick fan
06-10-2012, 09:39 PM
Hi all! I work with a NN3 (old) at -15 , Nikon D7000 and Nikon 10.5mm. I want to change the NN3! Which is better for the equipment I have? The NN4 or M1? What differences have these? What is the difference between M1-L and M1-S?

I appreciate your support!

Vedder

NN4 has similar build quality to NN3. It is just bigger and stronger and with 15 deg interval lock on the upper rotator.
M1 is much superior in quality. It has 7.5 deg interval lock on the upper rotator. It is modular in design and will be more upgradable.
M1S is smaller and lighter version for fisheye users without sung battery grip. M1L is for all lens type and support battery grip.

All models work for your current camera and lens. And each is worth the price. So it is just a matter of your budget.

Nick

hindenhaag
06-10-2012, 09:54 PM
Hi Vedder,

NN4 is developed for Lighter Equipment end lenses up to 100mm while M1 is the end of the line for Bigger Equipment and longer lenses. The different in upper rotators: NN4 goes with 15 intervals with different presets possible while M1 has already 7,5 intervals.

NN4 has a lot of possibilities upper rotator settings with varieties in upper rail horizontal presets.

NN4: 0 15 30 45 60 75

NN4 5 Preset: 5 20 35 50 65 80

NN4 7.5 Preset: 7.5 22.5 37.5 52.5 67.5 82.5

NN4 10 Preset: 10 25 40 55 70 85

NN4 has fixed set of rails in upper, lower and vertical rail. M1 has different lengths to serve as upper and lower rails. In total the rails are longer on M1 than NN4. NN4 rails are slightly shorter than old NN5 rails. This means on M1 you can use longer focal lenses that need a 210mm rail for example like 70-200 or 24-70mm nikkor lenses.

M1 uses fixed positions for the camera and slides the rail in clamps into NPP position. NN4 works similar to NN3 with camera clamps.

M1 has click stops on all clamps. Using the new camera plates you have a automatic centered position for repeatable accuracy.

M1-S is less stable compared to M1-L, thinner rails with one side arca style attachment instead of two sides on M1-L. In total the rails are shorter on M1-S: 160mm instead of 170 - 210 on M1-L.

The central point is that you have to decide what camera lens combination you like to use. If you like to use lenses > 100mm lenses, you have to go for M1-L.

There will be a M2 version in the future for lenses like 300mm/f2.8. Most of M1 parts can be used for M2. From NN4 you can stay with the RD16 only.

Right now NN4 will serve your needs. Lighter, cheaper. M1 would be your Rolls Royce.

Heinz

nostromo
06-12-2012, 01:10 AM
M1 uses fixed positions for the camera and slides the rail in clamps into NPP position. NN4 works similar to NN3 with camera clamps.



I wish there was a video or photo to explain this feature :huh:

John Houghton
06-12-2012, 01:41 AM
If you look at the photos at http://store.nodalninja.com/pano-heads/m1.html (click on View Product), you will be able to see that there is an Arca style clamp mounted onto the upper rotator. The camera is mounted at a fixed position on the upper rail (one end), and adjustment to the NPP is achieved by sliding the upper rail forwards and backwards in the rotator clamp. Being a modular system, it is also possible to contrive a configuration in which the rail is clamped at a fixed position and the camera is mounted on a QR plate that slides along the rail, as in the NN3/4/5.
.
John

nostromo
06-12-2012, 02:25 AM
Now I see, thanks!

But what if NPP happens to be behind sensor? Is there a way to slide upper rail in proper position ?

nick fan
06-12-2012, 03:43 AM
Now I see, thanks!

But what if NPP happens to be behind sensor? Is there a way to slide upper rail in proper position ?

you just reverse the upper rail and reverse mount the camera.

Nick

DemonDuck
06-13-2012, 03:59 PM
NN4 has similar build quality to NN3. It is just bigger and stronger and with 15 deg interval lock on the upper rotator.
M1 is much superior in quality. It has 7.5 deg interval lock on the upper rotator. It is modular in design and will be more upgradable.
M1S is smaller and lighter version for fisheye users without sung battery grip. M1L is for all lens type and support battery grip.

All models work for your current camera and lens. And each is worth the price. So it is just a matter of your budget.

Nick

Wacky idea #3890

If you used a crown gear on the upper rotator with a spring loaded compression nut, you could get a finer interval with the same precision. You could easily get a 5 deg interval with precision and durability.

Vedder
06-13-2012, 04:23 PM
Hi, thanks for the info! I work with a Nikon 10.5mm at -15 , I can work well at -15 with NN4? Another question, I have the RD16 Rotator, but I have to buy another rotator! I want to buy the RD4, works well with NN4, right? Last question! What other accessories do I have to buy to work well with NN4??

Thanks for your help!

Vedder
06-19-2012, 03:29 PM
Can anyone help me with these questions?

Thank you!

nick fan
06-19-2012, 07:10 PM
Hi, thanks for the info! I work with a Nikon 10.5mm at -15 , I can work well at -15 with NN4? Another question, I have the RD16 Rotator, but I have to buy another rotator! I want to buy the RD4, works well with NN4, right? Last question! What other accessories do I have to buy to work well with NN4??

Thanks for your help!

Yes, it works fine for you. you can use RD16 on NN4, no need to get a RD4. But you can use RD4 if you will.

Nick