PDA

View Full Version : NN4+5DMKII+Grip



Sandy Phimester
05-15-2012, 12:01 PM
Sorry, I'll make it more clear, was in a big hurry when writing this. Multitasking isn't my best quality.

Anyways, so I have a 5D Mark II, the 17-40 and a battery grip on the camera. It's been stuck on there for two years now, and I use it all the time. But have been thinking of removing it. In any case, without the grip, do I still need an adapter, or will the camera (without grip) work just fine with the Nodal Ninja 4?

If I do leave the grip on, I assume I'll need an adapter for the camera+grip to use with the NN4?


Assuming I get the grip off, the recommendations I can find on the site for setting the positions on the NN4 are only for the 5D it says, or do they work with the Mark II as wekk?

nick fan
05-15-2012, 07:21 PM
NN4 supports DSLRs with and without grip. If the grip has a tripod socket offset from lens axis, you need an adapter to compensate the offset. It can be a T-adapter, a QR system.

Nick

Sandy Phimester
05-16-2012, 12:47 AM
NN4 supports DSLRs with and without grip. If the grip has a tripod socket offset from lens axis, you need an adapter to compensate the offset. It can be a T-adapter, a QR system.

Nick


That's cool, thank you.


And the only other thing I'm wondering about, is that the website states that a 5D with a 17-40mm lens at 17mm should be a specific setting, of course, but there is no written setting for a 5D Mark II on there. Should I just try to figure it out myself, or is the setting the same? Or does someone have that already written down somewhere that I'm missing? (I guess that question isn't totally directed at you).

John Houghton
05-16-2012, 06:06 AM
It doesn't take long to determine the settings yourself, but you will find data for your camera and lens in the listings at http://wiki.panotools.org/Entrance_Pupil_Database . You should in any case check the settings and adjust if necessary. See:
http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm
http://tinyurl.com/lx86lz
.
John

Sandy Phimester
05-16-2012, 02:00 PM
It doesn't take long to determine the settings yourself, but you will find data for your camera and lens in the listings at http://wiki.panotools.org/Entrance_Pupil_Database . You should in any case check the settings and adjust if necessary. See:
http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm
http://tinyurl.com/lx86lz
.
John

Alright, thanks. I've seen the bottom two links before, and I'll definitely try it out for myself with the window method. Just for fun really.

Also, those settings listed in the first link, they help me KNOW the measurements, but do any of those #s actually apply to setting the NN4 up and using it properly? Like the settings used on the actual unit.

I know, I'll find out soon enough, but just curious.

John Houghton
05-17-2012, 07:20 AM
those settings listed in the first link, they help me KNOW the measurements, but do any of those #s actually apply to setting the NN4 up and using it properly?
Yes, they do help. Your objective is to locate the entrance pupil of the lens in line with the two rotational axes. Knowing the position of the entrance pupil relative to the tripod socket of the camera helps you to do this.

John