PDA

View Full Version : 9 New Fanotec Precision Camera Plates Dedicated for Panoramic Photographers



nick fan
12-07-2011, 11:17 PM
Fanotec is proud to release 9 new Arca style precision camera plates dedicated for panoramic photographers. These plates are a coherent part of the Ultimate Modular Series. They are designed to meet the following stringent requirements.

Strong Anti-twisting Supporting use for Heavy Cameras and Lenses
Cameras are normally mounted in portrait orientation on a panoramic tripod head (pano head). The weight of a big lens and camera can generate large twisting forces which is difficult to overcome by friction alone. Fanotec camera plates (except the universal ones) all have an anti-twisting pin or flange built in to support heavier lenses and cameras.
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_C1_1.jpg
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_U2_1.jpg

Precision and Reproducible Mounting of a Camera on a Pano Head
To get parallax free stitching, the entrance pupil of a lens must be positioned at the rotation axis/axes of a pano head. To avoid the need of recalibration each time after the plate is removed and reinstalled, there must be some mechanism to remember the position of the plate on the camera. These new plates utilize an anti-twisting pin/flange (or ruler scale as in case of the universal plates) to fulfill this purpose.
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_O1_1.jpg
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_U4_2.jpg

Compatible with Many Cameras
While the above features are also available in plates from other manufacturers, they are usually custom made for a specific camera requiring users to buy a new plate for a different camera. Fanotec plates (in general) are designed to work with many cameras by carefully analyzing a large range of cameras available in the market. They are contoured to match the shape of targeted cameras while maintaining their ergonomics. One of the biggest advantages of Fanotec camera specific plates is that they will also work for many other cameras of similar base design. (See camera plate item description in the store for list of mutually acceptable cameras).
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_C2_1.jpg
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_U2G_1.jpg

Automatic Alignment in Quick Release Clamps
Most Arca style plates are designed to slide back and forth inside the adjoining quick release (QR) clamp. This means the user must position the tripod socket (camera base mount) by carefully nudging the camera until properly aligned. Fanotec plates however are designed to align automatically with the safety pin in the Fanotec Quick Release Clamps (QRC). Markings for the tripod socket position are also included to work with QRCs from other manufacturers.

http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_Feature_1.jpg

http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_Feature_2.jpg

Safety Mechanisms
Fanotec QR clamps have a safety pin to keep the camera plate from sliding out of the clamp should it not be properly tightened. This is extremely important when a camera is mounted in portrait orientation on a pano head. New Fanotec plates even have extra sockets for installing safety stop screws to work with clamps from other manufacturers.
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_Feature_3.jpg

Dual Hand Strap Lugs
The new Fanotec plates (in general) have dual hand strap lugs to allow users to attach a hand or neck strap.
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/CP_U2_2.jpg

Watch for more unique precision camera plates coming soon from Fanotec.

nick fan
12-07-2011, 11:20 PM
Image gallery for the new plates
http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/camera_plates_gallery.pdf

hindenhaag
12-07-2011, 11:33 PM
Hello Nick,

Now we know why it took you some time to get all these plates ready. A lot of brainstorming.:th_wink:

Thanks a lot, well done, we know why we use Nodal Ninja Fanotec :thumbup:

Cheers,
Heinz

BaltimoreBob
12-09-2011, 08:35 AM
My thanks aslo, Nick. Especially glad to see the "repositioning" features that has been an irritation with my NN5 - just bought the M1-L and look forward to getting the plate for the D3; beleive I saw your note that you had received a scan of it - any idea when it will be available?
Bob

nick fan
12-09-2011, 09:08 AM
My thanks aslo, Nick. Especially glad to see the "repositioning" features that has been an irritation with my NN5 - just bought the M1-L and look forward to getting the plate for the D3; beleive I saw your note that you had received a scan of it - any idea when it will be available?
Bob

D3 plate should be available in Jan.

Nick

DemonDuck
12-09-2011, 09:47 AM
If you used quarter size pictures, you would give the same information and the page would load faster.

Vincèn
12-09-2011, 11:07 AM
My thanks aslo, Nick. Especially glad to see the "repositioning" features that has been an irritation with my NN5 - just bought the M1-L and look forward to getting the plate for the D3; beleive I saw your note that you had received a scan of it - any idea when it will be available?
Bob
in the meantime you can use the U1G plate, it fits nicely on D3/D3S/D3X, and it won't twist :)

Vincèn

BaltimoreBob
12-09-2011, 12:46 PM
Am I correct in thinking that the CP-U3 work with the Quick Release of the ASQRS2 system that I have for my NN5?

nick fan
12-09-2011, 11:27 PM
Am I correct in thinking that the CP-U3 work with the Quick Release of the ASQRS2 system that I have for my NN5?

you have to align the tripod socket position manually in that case.

Nick

riefa
12-11-2011, 06:31 AM
you have to align the tripod socket position manually in that case.

Nick

Hi Nick,

I am not quite understand with the above statement..:D
and how about CP-C1, is it compatible to use with ASQRS2?

Thx.

hindenhaag
12-11-2011, 08:40 AM
Riefa,

All the new camera plates are "arca style" plates. So all of them should fit into ASQRS2. As far as I know, the new plates are designed to click into place being centered to tripod mount socket by using the brass pin of the new QRClamps of M1 System.

Using the ASQRS2 plate - the old system - the new plates will not be automatically centered to the tripod mount socket of the camera by "click". You have to center the white marks on camera plate and on the ASQRS2 manually.

Heinz

riefa
12-12-2011, 10:22 AM
Riefa,

All the new camera plates are "arca style" plates. So all of them should fit into ASQRS2. As far as I know, the new plates are designed to click into place being centered to tripod mount socket by using the brass pin of the new QRClamps of M1 System.

Using the ASQRS2 plate - the old system - the new plates will not be automatically centered to the tripod mount socket of the camera by "click". You have to center the white marks on camera plate and on the ASQRS2 manually.

Heinz

Ah i c, I didn't realize that the M1 System QR Clamps has the 'click' mechanism to center the tripod mount.

Thank you Heinz, all clear now ;)

hindenhaag
12-12-2011, 11:07 AM
Riefa,

Pleasure, these are the secrets behind this Great System.:th_wink:

I "add-on" one of Nick's pics changed to demonstrate it. This System is a great help to "Reproduce Position for Dummies", a seri of books - for Dummies- in europe to explain how to get to the point easily . What means, you just click in and you are centered to tripod mount camera screw position. Precise, every time you click in. This is the secret behind this System added to all Quick Release Clamps and new camera plates of the M1 System.

Because this "Click System" is added to all Quick Release Clamps of the M1-System, we might expect an add-on to the M1 rails to "Click into NPP" for different Camera Lens Combinations to get automatic reproducible click alignment to get close to "low manual CP-placement" in software like PTGuiPro. Serves Batch Stitching Panos. "Pano to Go", because of great design of the hardware and great service of the "Big Two" Nick and Bill and everybody who is working behind the curtain, you just have to go out and shoot, not thinking about settings.:rockon:

413

Cheers,
Heinz

BTW: Sorry for the via via bad quality of the pic.:blush:

hindenhaag
12-18-2011, 03:12 AM
Hello,

to avoid us clicking through the store pages to get to know the camera bodies to be used with the new plates, I have set up an overview:

417

To see examples have a look to this link of Nick:

http://fanotec-public.s3.amazonaws.com/camera_plates_gallery.pdf

These are the NIKON Plates: D70, D70s: U2

D80, D90, D100, D200, D300/s, D700, D7000: U3

D1x: U3G

D3: there will be a new plate around Jan 2012, at the moment use U1G

I will try to test the new plates for D3100, D5100, at the moment with not too heavy lenses you can use U1


Cheers,:th_wink:
Heinz

Vincèn
12-18-2011, 05:00 AM
to avoid us clicking through the store pages to get to know the camera bodies to be used with the new plates, I have set up an overview:
nice :thumbup:

hindenhaag
12-18-2011, 11:27 AM
Thx Vincen,

BTW: to find the new camera plates in the e-store go to >Accessories-All, >M1 Series Accessories at the bottom:

http://store.nodalninja.com/categories/Modular-Ultimate-M1-Series/M1-Series-Accessories/

Heinz

BaltimoreBob
02-20-2012, 01:21 PM
Any update on the plate for the D3?

waters
02-20-2012, 03:47 PM
Bob:

Any reason this would not work?
http://www.kirkphoto.com/Camera_Plate_for_D3.html
Seems like reinventing the wheel!

nick fan
02-20-2012, 06:44 PM
Any update on the plate for the D3?

2nd prototype of D3 is ready.

Nick

BaltimoreBob
02-22-2012, 01:04 PM
Waters, thanks probably would, as does the D3 plate from Really Right Stuff. In answer following Nick states his is now available which I understand has some unique features applicable to both the M1 and the camera. And, I was told when I purchased the M1, with which the U1G was supplied, that the D3 plate would be an upgrade.

BaltimoreBob
02-22-2012, 01:13 PM
NIck
Great to know - when I purchased the M! I was told that I would get this as an upgrade - will I have ot call or will it be sent like the upper rotator know was.
Thanks much

nick fan
02-23-2012, 08:15 AM
NIck
Great to know - when I purchased the M! I was told that I would get this as an upgrade - will I have ot call or will it be sent like the upper rotator know was.
Thanks much

contact your reseller when you see the plate in the store.

Nick

hindenhaag
02-23-2012, 11:03 AM
Waters,

Nick is not reinventing the wheel, he is updating it! The Clamps of the whole M1- System have a Pin System which can be used to "Click Into Position Automatically". With the New Fanotec Camera Plates you will click automatically centered into position on the Upper rail end Clamp QRC 40A.

Have a look to this thread: http://www.nodalninja.com/forum/showthread.php?4690-Some-Basics-about-new-Fanotec-Camera-Plates-CP-U2-U3-U4

http://www.nodalninja.com/Manuals/Quick_Installation_Guide_for_New_Camera_Plates_wit h_Anti-twisting_Flange.pdf

http://www.nodalninja.com/Manuals/Quick_Installation_Guide_for_Camera_Plate_C2.pdf

http://www.nodalninja.com/Manuals/Specification%20for%20Fanotec%20Arca%20Style%20Cam era%20Plates.pdf

@Bob, you will like the new D3 Clamp clicking into position automatically. Have a look for CP-U4G when it is ready for sale.

Heinz

BaltimoreBob
02-23-2012, 01:12 PM
Heinz, you can't imagine...
And, when this has settled down, I plan to suggest that the same thing be done for the quick release plates of the NN5 that I use with my D300.

BaltimoreBob
03-06-2012, 07:57 AM
D3 plate should be available in Jan.

Nick
Nick - any idea when the D3 plate will be in the store? What will it be designated? It it is there I'm not finding/recognizing it.
Bob

nick fan
03-06-2012, 09:39 AM
Nick - any idea when the D3 plate will be in the store? What will it be designated? It it is there I'm not finding/recognizing it.
Bob
sorry, not yet available.

Nick

slerman
03-06-2012, 09:41 AM
If I replace the standard clamp on the NN5 rotator with the new QR 55mm one will the camera plate click into position? If that works all I need to know is if the camera plate C1 fits the new Canon 5D MKIII...

hindenhaag
03-06-2012, 10:38 AM
Hi,

this is the upper rail end clamp, QR40A: http://store.nodalninja.com/products/Quick-Release-Clamp-40mm-for-Upper-Rail.html This has to be used for the new camera plates. The problem with NN5 is that this plate has to be able to slide on the fixed upper rail. M1 has fixed clamps and the rail slide through the clamp. The knob of QR40A is too thick to slide on the upper rail of NN5. The clamp needs a 10mm lift with an adapter to get the knob free.

Heinz

slerman
03-06-2012, 11:55 AM
Thanks Heinz that's very helpful.

hindenhaag
03-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Just an add-on: To mount QR40A directly to Camera Plate Mounting Knob of NN5 we need a lift of 10mm for free space of the knob. http://store.nodalninja.com/products/NN5-5L-Camera-Mounting-Knob.html
To avoid twist, we need a socket in the adapter for the Anti Twist Screws of QR40a to be very secure. Just got an idea this evening. Cp-2 camera plate has a total height of 10mm. With the high Anti Twist Flange of it it might be possible to secure QR40A in position without Anti twist Screw Sockets in the Adapter. I'll test it tomorrow and try to take some pics. In case it will work, you can just use your old CP-2 Camera Plate to slide along the upper rail of NN5 and use the new brilliant camera plates on NN3 NN4 NN5, in case the lower rail will take the new offset. I will tell you tomorrow.

Heinz

nick fan
03-06-2012, 08:06 PM
If I replace the standard clamp on the NN5 rotator with the new QR 55mm one will the camera plate click into position? If that works all I need to know is if the camera plate C1 fits the new Canon 5D MKIII...

QRC-55 is a good choice. You just mount on the CP2. The cork on CP2 should provides enough friction without twisting.
C1 is cameras specific unless canon decides to keep the anti-twisting pin at the same position.

Nick

nick fan
03-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Just an add-on: To mount QR40A directly to Camera Plate Mounting Knob of NN5 we need a lift of 10mm for free space of the knob. http://store.nodalninja.com/products/NN5-5L-Camera-Mounting-Knob.html
To avoid twist, we need a socket in the adapter for the Anti Twist Screws of QR40a to be very secure. Just got an idea this evening. Cp-2 camera plate has a total height of 10mm. With the high Anti Twist Flange of it it might be possible to secure QR40A in position without Anti twist Screw Sockets in the Adapter. I'll test it tomorrow and try to take some pics. In case it will work, you can just use your old CP-2 Camera Plate to slide along the upper rail of NN5 and use the new brilliant camera plates on NN3 NN4 NN5, in case the lower rail will take the new offset. I will tell you tomorrow.

Heinz

QRC-40A also works. It may work better than QRC-55 because the sides are straight lines. It works with anti-twisting flange on CP2.

Nick

hindenhaag
03-07-2012, 07:16 AM
Good News!!

I tested D300s, New Fanotec Plate U3, QR40A mounted to CP-2 fixed to NN5 upper rail. It works. Rare design, but the long nose gives a better Anti Twist to QR40A than for QR55 cause of the curved lines As Nick already mentioned. Plus QR40A is smaller than QR55.
Now to mount it to CP-2 the bottom Of QR40A has to be plain, all outstanding small Anti Twist Screws have to taken out. You can quite easily use the Cp-2 without any need for drilling sockets or something else. In case you can not reach the QR40A with the long Flange of CP-2, you just have to change the place of the small silver screw to get more space to move the top part of CP-2.

528537535531536529534533532530

The Camera Plate U3-QR40A adds 20mm to your lower rails setting. D300s on NN5 NN4 = 60, now 80.
I am afraid that it does not work on NN3MKII cause the rail in most cases should be too short.

Result: the New Fanotec Camera Plates will work on NN5 NN4 with the help of CP-2 Camera Plate that came with NN5 NN4.

This is the clamp you have to order plus your camera plate: http://store.nodalninja.com/products/Quick-Release-Clamp-40mm-for-Upper-Rail.html

Cheers,
Heinz

BaltimoreBob
04-20-2012, 01:17 PM
D3 plate should be available in Jan.

Nick

Nick -
Any update? The rig Heinz worked out for my D300 that I use on the NN5 is really great! Looking forward to ease of use with the M1-L with the D3 plate when it is available.

Bob

nick fan
04-23-2012, 02:53 AM
Nick -
Any update? The rig Heinz worked out for my D300 that I use on the NN5 is really great! Looking forward to ease of use with the M1-L with the D3 plate when it is available.

Bob

I wanted to save some money by not getting a D3. It seems impossible. Just got a D3 last week. I will make some last tweak to the prototype and start the production.

Nick

BaltimoreBob
04-23-2012, 07:57 AM
Thank you Nick, I eagerly await...

Vincèn
05-26-2012, 08:27 AM
Do you plan to get a plate for Pentax 645D ? the ones I found are not very nice, Kirk one is in the wrong direction to attach it on M1L, and RRS doesn't work well with the security pin of the M1L and is a little narrow on open side :(

nick fan
05-26-2012, 10:48 AM
Do you plan to get a plate for Pentax 645D ? the ones I found are not very nice, Kirk one is in the wrong direction to attach it on M1L, and RRS doesn't work well with the security pin of the M1L and is a little narrow on open side :(

Do a 600 dpi scan of base for Pentax 645D and send it to me. I am afraid the cost of 645D is too high for me to get one.

Nick