question about flat panoram [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : question about flat panoram



Tamiro
05-02-2011, 05:43 AM
HI all
im trying to shoot a flat pano with my NN5+RD16 and my D300s + 105 mm lens
and i'm wondering about two things

1. how can i find my NPP if the lens it so long (sigm 105 + D300s)

2. when shooting, how should i set the focus if there is a large range between the 2 or 3 rows?

Tamir

hindenhaag
05-02-2011, 08:59 AM
Hi Tamir,

I did test Nikkor 105 on D3, difference to D300s following my tests in upper rails settings is 14mm, so D300s Nikkor 105 URS should be 78mm.

You have to test the Sigma on your own.

http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

Focus: This is a long discussion. Focus is not always stable with different equipments. Actually you should test the sharpness specially with a series of shots with your own equipment.

To get you on the road, you could use the "hyperfocal distance" for your chosen aperture. To get confused", you could have a look on www.panoguide.com and search "hyperfocal distance".

http://www.dofmaster.com/doftable.html

http://www.panoguide.com/forums/qna/9103/

http://www.panoguide.com/search/?s=hyperfocal+distance&field=all&section=forums

Regards,
Heinz

Tamiro
05-31-2011, 01:54 PM
Hi Tamir,

I did test Nikkor 105 on D3, difference to D300s following my tests in upper rails settings is 14mm, so D300s Nikkor 105 URS should be 78mm.

You have to test the Sigma on your own.

http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

Focus: This is a long discussion. Focus is not always stable with different equipments. Actually you should test the sharpness specially with a series of shots with your own equipment.

To get you on the road, you could use the "hyperfocal distance" for your chosen aperture. To get confused", you could have a look on www.panoguide.com and search "hyperfocal distance".

http://www.dofmaster.com/doftable.html

http://www.panoguide.com/forums/qna/9103/

http://www.panoguide.com/search/?s=hyperfocal+distance&field=all&section=forums

Regards,
Heinz

tanks Heinz

this is what i have soot with tne D300s + Sigma 105mm + NN5+RD16
http://www.360vr.tamiror.com/mtzeitim
at a hyperfocal focus

and now i have another question about focus seting...

i want to try shooting a 360*180 pano with the D300s + 50 mm lens, in a building.
i know i'll have to change my focus during the shooting process...
so how can i do it?

i know how to calibrate the NNP

hindenhaag
06-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Hi Tamiro,

just recognized that something must have gone wrong with my answer.

Looking to your pano when it is self turning I get squared blurry blocks in between which are not sharp. Are you sure you shave set lens and camera body to manual at focus? Did you tape the focus ring?

I will send you the settings later on this weekend.

Heinz

John Houghton
06-04-2011, 12:04 AM
With longer focal length lenses, you may not be able to accommodate the full depth of field of the scene with the lens at one focus setting. If necessary, you can shoot each row with a different focus setting. Changing the focus setting alters the fov, so you need to take account of this in the stitching. In PTGui, you can assign individual lens parameters (FOV) on the Lens Details tab. Do this for all rows other than the main horizontal row. You can use the advanced optimizer tab to optimize the rows individually or all together, as you like.

I had to use individual parameters for this flat panorama in order to get the foreground sharp:
http://www.johnhpanos.com/wimpole2-large.jpg (5MB - 3 rows of 7 using a 50mm lens)

John

Tamiro
06-04-2011, 11:26 AM
Hi Heins
i checked agin and i didn't find any blurry squared... did you wait till it load?

the camera and the lens was at manual focus...

i'll wait for your setting.

tanx
Tamir

hindenhaag
06-05-2011, 06:45 AM
Hi Tamiro,

seems to be my internet which is very rare this weekend.

194

Success,
Heinz

Tamiro
06-06-2011, 03:33 AM
hi Heinz
tanx
the chart is looking great... but i haven't understend how to read it...
can you explain to me (if you have time for this) how it's work?

Tamir

hindenhaag
06-06-2011, 04:56 AM
My breaktime...

You shoot the spherical panorama with 8 rows with different detent plunger settings = small blue knob of RD16 which gives you different numbers of stops. Each detent setting is related to a number of stops.
For each row you have to set the upper rail to a different pitch = moving the upper rail up or down to a certain angle║.

Now first shot +90║ for zenith.

1.row: detend plunger set to 24║ = 15 Stops, upper rail set to +72,5║ Pitch: begin at 0║ , turn to the right to the next stop, and take a shot at every single stop.

2.row: detend plunger set to 18║ = 20 Stops, upper rail set to +52.2║ Pitch: shot all the 20 stops, and reset the settings for the next row, and so on. For the rows with 12║ = 30 stops you only change the pitch for the next row.

At least shoot the two Nadir shots -90║ if you have a NN Nadir Adapter or a normal plus a handheld one.

If you end up with gaps in between shots to stitch, tell me and I will send a table with min 30% overlap, which will ask more shots and one more row.

Hope it helps,
Heinz

Tamiro
06-07-2011, 03:09 AM
OK got it!

tanx again

Tamir