anyone any idea how the R1 universal stop plate works? [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : anyone any idea how the R1 universal stop plate works?



stalwart
05-02-2011, 05:24 AM
hi all,

Can someone shed some light on how the R1 'universal stop plate' works?

thanks

Stuart

hindenhaag
05-02-2011, 07:55 AM
Hi Stuart,

http://store.nodalninja.com/products/Arca-Style-Stop-Plate-2ea.html

If you are talking about these stops, the should be used on the ring clamp foot itself and I suppose they have to be added from below. So when the foot of the lens ring glides into the clamp, this add on should stop it at your NPP on one side of the R1 clamp and then you can easily close the clamp at NPP Position.

I do not have one, but this is the only way I can imagine it should work.

Regards,
Heinz

stalwart
05-04-2011, 02:02 AM
hi Heinz,
nope - it's not like those. Here’s a picture:
http://www.360imagery.co.uk/temp/R1_universal_stop_plate.JPG
Instead of a lens-specific stop plate like this one: http://store.nodalninja.com/products/R1-Stop-Plate-Sigma-8mm-F3.5-Canon-Mount-0%C2%B0%7B47%7D-5%C2%B0-4-stops.html, you can see in the picture the ‘universal stop plate’ set consists of a standard-sized rail stop but with a longer groove rail, and 7 ‘chocks’ of different lengths - 4mm, 6mm, 8mm, 8.5mm, 9mm, 9.5mm & 10mm. There is also a white collar ring & bolt.
I’m assuming that you use the chocks to set the hole that the spring-loaded retaining pin on the R1 fits into, according to your lens NPP......
Cheers
Stu

Vincèn
05-04-2011, 02:22 AM
Right you have to use the little "chocks" and combine them to get the correct settings. Here is attached a non yet official document with all settings you can do. A clean manual should be avalaible in future to explain more in details how it works :001_smile:
Here is temporary url of file as I'm unable to upload it on forum :confused1: http://www.skivr.com/temp/LRP.pdf

Vincèn

Bill Bailey
05-04-2011, 05:15 PM
You can always just experiment as well with different sized plugs to get you were you need to be. Usually only takes a few tries.
Bill

hindenhaag
05-04-2011, 09:39 PM
Vincen,

I too have problems uploading fotos or url on forum with my mac as well. May be Derek might have a look at it.

Heinz

stalwart
05-05-2011, 07:49 AM
Hi Vincèn,

Thanks for the info & PDF - I'd sort of guessed that's how it probably worked!

Bill - what is the bolt & white washer for?

I'm assuming the settings for Cannon Mount Sigma 8mm F3.5 is still as per http://www.nodalninja.com/support/camerasettings.html?

thanks

Stu

Vincèn
05-05-2011, 07:59 AM
Bill - what is the bolt & white washer for?
It's only used for R10. Install the machined M3 screw on the central socket on the QR clamp. It acts as a stop screw like the R1. If the stop plate is out of range with the stop screw at the center position, install the stop screw with a white washer at the other 2 sockets.

Vincèn