R10- Lens Ring for canon sigma 8mm lens [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : R10- Lens Ring for canon sigma 8mm lens



softgad
04-12-2011, 04:07 PM
Just received my clamp and check the online manual. According to the picture, the ring fits on top of the switch of the manual automatic zoom. It does not seem right (raised the ring) and I do not want to apply pressure to it, unless you guys I found this is not an issue. Is this the proper set up?

Thank you

DennisS
04-12-2011, 08:31 PM
Maual automatic zoom switch? I think you mean the focus ring.

I have the same Sigma 8mm lens. The clamp does not grab the focus ring on the lens. With the proper insert, it only grabs the body. You might need to tape the focus ring in place in order to keep it from moving.

I machined a little window in the ring clamp so I could see the focus scale. I use the 8mm lens for other than panorama photography.

softgad
04-12-2011, 09:28 PM
Dennis indeed the zoom switch. Actually I was just dumb when I tried the first time, you just need to have to leave the gap of the insert at the level of the switch, da. Nice touch of machining a small window though, I respect the customization

hindenhaag
04-12-2011, 09:39 PM
In fact the canon lens is different from our Nikon version DennisS. Are we talking about AM/ M focus switch which is above normal lens level? There is no zoom switch on this 8mm lens. So if the inner plastic ring is raised away from the lens body, you could either try the gap of the plastic ring, or, in case this is a problem, machine this out of the plastic lens ring. We can not test it, because DennisS and I are NIKONIANS.

http://homepage.mac.com/hindenhaag/filechute/LensRing%20on%20CanonLens.zip

But I am quite sure Nick has had an eye on this problem?

Cheers,
Heinz

DennisS
04-13-2011, 07:02 AM
My bad. Did not realize there was an actual switch on the Canon version. Being a NIKONIAN I would have never known that. Thanks for pointing that out Heinz.

nick fan
04-15-2011, 02:26 AM
Dennis indeed the zoom switch. Actually I was just dumb when I tried the first time, you just need to have to leave the gap of the insert at the level of the switch, da. Nice touch of machining a small window though, I respect the customization

remember to tape the inner ring so that it will not move.
you can do some focus distance test and mark the right position on the lens barrel.

Nick