PDA

View Full Version : nn3 with rd4 rotator and a 5D with nn3?



superpants
03-08-2011, 04:50 PM
i have an r1 with the rd4 rotator if i got a nn3 could i use that rotator with it? is it easy enough to swap the rotator? also can you use a 5d with and or with out the battery grip on the nn3? or would a nn5 be better for a 5d and the r4d rotator?

Thanks

Bill Bailey
03-08-2011, 08:04 PM
Hi Superpants,
Can't use rd4 on NN3 - only RD8 and RD16.
5D is better suited for NN5 series due to size and weight.

thx
Bill

nick fan
03-08-2011, 10:33 PM
Hi Superpants,
Can't use rd4 on NN3 - only RD8 and RD16.
5D is better suited for NN5 series due to size and weight.

thx
Bill

Well, one can mount an RD4 to NN3/5 or the Ultimate M1 without problem. It just does not look as good.

NIck

hansnyberg
03-09-2011, 02:38 AM
I think the RD4 is a great light weight for the NN3. Should be no problem adding it. Just get the extra M6-3/8 screw.
I believe the diameter is just a little to large but you can jut use a detent ring as a spacer. I do not like antitwist. Its not needed as you always shoot clockwise and I need to be able to dismount it easy without any tools and ad the head on top of a pole when I need it.
I have used the Manfrotto 300 that way for the last 4-5 years but the RD4 is just 225 gr and will give me smaller nadir.

I have used my 5D on it the last 3 years together with both Nikkor 10.5, Tokina 10-17 and Canon 15mm. I prefer it from lensrings for several reasons and with the RD4 it will be just 560 gr which I believe is not much different from an R1 set.
And it gives me all the options which R1 does not give me.

Hans