Using an NN3 and a little advice please [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Using an NN3 and a little advice please



andyc100
05-13-2010, 08:44 AM
hi Guys

Having just acquired a new NN3 Mk1 complete with a T-bar extension, and never really tried or even given a thought to pano work, but becoming more and more hooked each day.

Dont have a problem with the settting up tho still a bit slow at the minute tho Im sure with time this will speed up. I use canon and can use either a 5D (Mk1) or 40D with a 17-40 and from reading posts on hear and reading some of the links I have settled with 10 clicks to give a 360 pano (here's hoping thats ok, please feel free to correct me if needed) no 10 indent disc so using a 20 and double clicking.

This is where Im am at present, next thing for me is to achieve a good single row pano and need to ask how you would expose for the shots, assuming manual settings and on landscapes probably anything between f11-f16. I take it the exposure would be the same for all shots or do you expose each for the scene being shot at the time.

Also, advancing to more than single row panos how would the angles be calculated.

Many thanks and appreciated your comments

Andy

andyc100
05-18-2010, 12:11 PM
hmmm friendly bunch............. :-\

Bill Bailey
05-18-2010, 12:32 PM
hmmm friendly bunch............. :-\

Hi Andy,
Welcome to the forum.
Do you have the NN3 with tension screw knob on top of lower rotator? If so you should differently upgrade to the newer MKII rotator:
http://store.nodalninja.com/nn3_p/n3ii-r.htm
On what click stops you need there are panorama calculators out there and we even have one at:
http://www.nodalninja.com/pano_calculations.html
And a chart at:
http://www.nodalninja.com/product_selector.html
Basically you want approx 30% overlap between images - it's ok if a little under or over.
There are many work flows out there and some can be very user specific depending on equipment, type of panoramas, software, output needs etc. The primary purpose of our forum isn't so much to teach people how to shoot panoramas rather than teach or advise folks on how to use our products correctly in the process. If you are just starting out one answer can lead to 2 questions. It is really best to research other websites and tutorials that are able to take more time in teaching the techniques.
Just Google "how to panorama tutorials" and you'll see many.
Once you get going with panoramas it can be lots of fun and very rewarding.

Cheers
Bill

andyc100
05-18-2010, 12:53 PM
Hi Andy,
Welcome to the forum.
Do you have the NN3 with tension screw knob on top of lower rotator? If so you should differently upgrade to the newer MKII rotator:
http://store.nodalninja.com/nn3_p/n3ii-r.htm
On what click stops you need there are panorama calculators out there and we even have one at:
http://www.nodalninja.com/pano_calculations.html
And a chart at:
http://www.nodalninja.com/product_selector.html
Basically you want approx 30% overlap between images - it's ok if a little under or over.
There are many work flows out there and some can be very user specific depending on equipment, type of panoramas, software, output needs etc. The primary purpose of our forum isn't so much to teach people how to shoot panoramas rather than teach or advise folks on how to use our products correctly in the process. If you are just starting out one answer can lead to 2 questions. It is really best to research other websites and tutorials that are able to take more time in teaching the techniques.
Just Google "how to panorama tutorials" and you'll see many.
Once you get going with panoramas it can be lots of fun and very rewarding.

Cheers
Bill


Hi Bill thankyou for the welcome, and my apologies for asking the wrong questions...my bad.

Regarding the rotator it is the "mark I" version (with tension screw) I have and I did see the MkII rotator upgrade but unfortunately I cant seem to source it this side of the pond (UK) from http://www.red-door.co.uk/ unless of course you know of a UK supplier. I will be obtaining the rail stops very shortly and would like to purchase this aswel if available.

Again, many thanks for your time

Andy

Bill Bailey
05-18-2010, 02:04 PM
Try 360TacticalVR:
http://www.360tacticalvr.com/accessories/spares/nn3-upg.html
Not sure of your budget but the updated camera mounting plate (CP-II) is also a great added feature:
http://www.360tacticalvr.com/accessories/spares/camera-mounting-plate.html
The CP-II is standard now in all Nodal Ninja's.

Cheers
Bill

spiritburner
05-30-2010, 05:26 AM
Hi

reference more than single row shots, check out this little app for the iphone or ipod touch

http://www.panotool.com/pages/PanoCalc.html

works a treat.

Neil