PDA

View Full Version : call me thick, but....



johnrixon
03-16-2010, 06:55 AM
Hi - absolute stranger to this 'sport' but have a commission to make some 360 pieces. Can someone tell me why, in almost every image I've seen of this device (and I've seen a few in the last few days) the camera is set up for portrait??
I had a vision (as I'm going to be making landscapes) of at least one set-up, where the camera is mounted horizontally.
Or am I thick / missing something?
Cheers!

nick fan
03-16-2010, 09:36 AM
Hi - absolute stranger to this 'sport' but have a commission to make some 360 pieces. Can someone tell me why, in almost every image I've seen of this device (and I've seen a few in the last few days) the camera is set up for portrait??
I had a vision (as I'm going to be making landscapes) of at least one set-up, where the camera is mounted horizontally.
Or am I thick / missing something?
Cheers!


1. For a multi-row pano head, mounting camera in portrait mode is simpler than mounting camera in landscape mode.
2. when you stitch images together, the orientation of camera is not important. You just take enough rows and columns to achieve the aspect ratio of your liking. By mounting camera in portrait mode, you reduce the number of rows. This make pano shooting faster when using a rotator with click stops. The extreme case is using fisheye lens to make spherical panos. One only needs to take one row of images plus top shot and down shot. If the camera is in landscape mode, 2 rows of images are needed. Of course 1 row is more efficient.


Nick

hindenhaag
03-16-2010, 09:41 AM
opening up the reply you have been quicker Nick, got the warning there is a report in between. :wink:

You are ok having recognized the in most cases you shoot Panos in portrait mode. Now with the comment of Nick, you know the reason why.

Welcome in the world of panoramas.

Heinz

johnrixon
03-16-2010, 10:09 AM
Thanks for swift replies!
Ok - I think that makes sense! All I know at the moment is that I am working with 5 HD projectors, which means 72 degrees if my maths serves me well. I have a Canon 400D and a Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX plus a 10-20 f4 - 5.6 also EX and am hoping that the Ninja 3 will suit? Obviously I need 5 indents, and a fair bit more homework to make this happen! Most of the material will be landscapes, and most will be set on infinity focus.
I have used the PhotoStitch program that came with my camera one, with guessed shots in Iceland - that seems to be pretty tolerant. Do you reckon I need to shell out for specialist soft?

DemonDuck
03-16-2010, 10:46 AM
Hi - absolute stranger to this 'sport' but have a commission to make some 360 pieces. Can someone tell me why, in almost every image I've seen of this device (and I've seen a few in the last few days) the camera is set up for portrait??
I had a vision (as I'm going to be making landscapes) of at least one set-up, where the camera is mounted horizontally.
Or am I thick / missing something?
Cheers!


Ok, here's a question for you. HOW DID YOU GET A COMMISSION FOR 360 PANO"S IF YOU HAVEN"T DONE ANY BEFORE:confused1:?

I really would like to know how you did that -- you are my hero!!!

nick fan
03-16-2010, 11:28 AM
Thanks for swift replies!
Ok - I think that makes sense! All I know at the moment is that I am working with 5 HD projectors, which means 72 degrees if my maths serves me well. I have a Canon 400D and a Sigma 18-50 2.8 EX plus a 10-20 f4 - 5.6 also EX and am hoping that the Ninja 3 will suit? Obviously I need 5 indents, and a fair bit more homework to make this happen! Most of the material will be landscapes, and most will be set on infinity focus.
I have used the PhotoStitch program that came with my camera one, with guessed shots in Iceland - that seems to be pretty tolerant. Do you reckon I need to shell out for specialist soft?


5 HD projectors? How are you going to use them?
what is the resolution of final pano you want to achieve?

NIck

johnrixon
03-16-2010, 12:19 PM
Ok, here's a question for you. HOW DID YOU GET A COMMISSION FOR 360 PANO"S IF YOU HAVEN"T DONE ANY BEFORE?

I really would like to know how you did that -- you are my hero!!!
Long story - but I have been involved in video art and the festival scene for some years now, I have a geodesic dome to fill for a few hours, some video, some stills, and I want to use the Ninja to set up a back drop onto which I will overlay other material. 1080p will be the video resolution, The panos will form part of these videos in post production.

johnrixon
03-16-2010, 12:38 PM
The vids will be edge blended using the system's proprietary software - from 5 separate video servers. I asked about picture stitching software more out of personal interest really!
So - do you think that the Ninja will do 5 x 72 degree shots ok?

nick fan
03-17-2010, 03:57 AM
The vids will be edge blended using the system's proprietary software - from 5 separate video servers. I asked about picture stitching software more out of personal interest really!
So - do you think that the Ninja will do 5 x 72 degree shots ok?


Sorry, I don't understand your application. Do you mean you use 5 projects to show one image, with each showing 1/5 of image? 1080P is very low resolution for a DSLR, you can just crop a wide angle shots.
you probably don't need a pano head, just take a few shots with >30% overlap and use PhotoStitch to stich them.


Nick

johnrixon
03-17-2010, 07:45 AM
Sorry - I probably described this badly - the end result is an installation of 5 x 1080p projectors forming the whole panorama. I am going to be creating 5 films, each of which will comprise 72 degrees of the 360 - each film will be delivered via a separate video server, and the stiching happens at that point, using the system's proprietary stiching system. The reason I want to use the Ninja, is so that each film will have a digital photo as part of a background, over which I intend to composite video footage. I was thinking that if I take the still using an accurate system, the rest of the process will be less fraught? Does this make more sense?

nick fan
03-17-2010, 08:56 AM
ok, so you are saying you need to make a 360 deg pano as the background. Yes, a Ninja will help a lot.
You are suggested to buy NN5/ 5L for your lenses. NN3 (T-adapter needed) will work but NN5 series will work much better.


Nick

johnrixon
03-17-2010, 02:25 PM
Thanks for this everyone - will follow your advice and squirt some of my budget at a NN5!
Exciting times ahead!

hindenhaag
03-18-2010, 01:09 PM
I am quite sure about this,

would be fine to see your final work.

regards Heinz

johnrixon
03-27-2010, 10:31 AM
would be fine to see your final work.
I will endevour to capture it somehow and post some pictures here when it's over!