can't get the perfect nodal point [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : can't get the perfect nodal point



Tamiro
01-07-2010, 05:04 AM
i'm working with the D300+sigma 10-20
and it seem that i have problem finding the exact nodal point

what i'm doing wrong?

i got the user guide that expalin how to fint the nodal pint and still i have problem stich my pano's

Tanx

Tamir

nick fan
01-07-2010, 05:45 AM
http://www.johnhpanos.com/epcalib.htm

follow the above tutorial.

Nick

John Houghton
01-07-2010, 08:00 AM
Tamir, You supplied a set of images over on the PTGui forum and these stitched fine (after rotating the zenith shot through 180 degrees and deleting the many horizontal and vertical line control points). There was nothing to suggest that your panohead was not set up adequately. I uploaded my version of the PTGui project file for you to run yourself. So why do you still think you have a problem?

John

nick fan
01-07-2010, 08:16 AM
Maybe try to correct the lens before stitching. This will make sure your lens parameters are correct.
http://epaperpress.com/ptlens/
download the software for a free 10 image trial


Nick

hindenhaag
01-07-2010, 10:28 AM
For Sigma 10-20 4-5.6 try the following settings: 10 108, 14 110, 20 114.

http://wiki.panotools.org/Entrance_Pupil_Database. You have to add to this measurements the distance of 46,5mm to the D300 from lense flange to sensor plane = 46,5mm, it is the same distance for all D models.

Heinz

John Houghton
01-07-2010, 10:44 AM
Tamir, Using the project of one third size images you provided, I applied pitch -90 with the numerical transform option and generated a view of the nadir area but without the nadir image included so that the tripod was visible and that did show some minor circular saw artifacts (see the tutorial that Nick mentioned):

http://www.johnhpanos.com/tam-nad.jpg

This indicates that the vertical arm was offset a little to the left (as viewed from the rear of the camera, with the vertical arm on your right). The vertical arm needs to be shifted right by maybe 1 or 2 mm to rectify that. Adjust the position until you get a clean circle.

John

Tamiro
01-07-2010, 12:25 PM
Tanx

john - good to see you here to!

i have cheecked the file that you upload and it's help me to understand my problem!

now it's look ok!

Tanx again

Tamir

hindenhaag
01-07-2010, 08:56 PM
What is the lower rail setting you used till now?

Heinz

Hugh
01-08-2010, 06:49 AM
The Sigma 10-20mm zoom lens has a single Nodal Point (unlike fisheye lenses).
At the 20mm end of the zoom the Nodal Point is at the Gold Ring
At the 10mm end of the zoom the Nodal Point is 6mm behind the Gold Ring

See:
http://www.hugha.co.uk/NodalPoint/Index.htm#Results_

Best regards, Hugh.

Tamiro
01-09-2010, 08:56 AM
What is the lower rail setting you used till now?

Heinz


lower rail: 66
uper rail: 94

in 10 mm

hindenhaag
01-09-2010, 09:49 AM
Hi,

use lower rail setting for D200/D300 with NN5w/CP-CP2 56 and NN3w/CP-CP2 of 60. D200 D300 use the same body, so the rail settings are the same. Try these settings and check with the stitch for hacksaw with the follwing

link: http://www.easypano.com/forum/display_topic_threads.asp?ForumID=1&TopicID=4162.

You can also check the database on Home/Support/Camerasettings/Nikon.

Heinz

Tamiro
01-11-2010, 12:38 PM
ok

i have solved the problem

i had to calibrate my nodal point again.

after shooting a new pano in my house i have to put a few more control points and optimiz the viewpoint of those pic's.

thax all
for helping me

Tamir

hindenhaag
01-11-2010, 01:46 PM
Pleasure,

and enjoy,

Heinz