D700 and 80/200mm 2,8 [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : D700 and 80/200mm 2,8



mountaintb
09-19-2009, 03:55 AM
Hello,

I have a NN5 + RD16, I have a problem on my 80/200 2,8 to find the right position for the parallax at 200mm. Has anybody got the experience of the settings at that type of focal lenght:confused1:

thank you :001_smile: :001_smile: :001_smile: :001_smile:

hindenhaag
09-19-2009, 07:17 AM
Hi,

you find the NNP for zoom 200 for your lens 29,8mm behind the sensor plane. http:/www.swissarmyfork.com/lens_table_1.htm.

The picture is 70-200 with D3.

Good luck,


Heinz

hindenhaag
09-19-2009, 07:34 AM
Sorry,

i think also with your lens 80-200 you have to turn the upper rail forward. Forgot to tell you. :-\

Heinz

Bill Bailey
09-19-2009, 08:49 AM
Heinz is absolutely right (thx Heinz)
You can rotate the camera 180 degrees on the upper rail in situations where the NPP is behind the sensor plane. We working on providing a tutorial on alternate ways to setup and use the Nodal Ninja in situations like this.
It is important to note as well that resulting added torque will occur to the upper rail so using the "NN5's" with "positive locking" on the upper rotator would be better suited over the NN5L which does not have upper rotator locks.

mountaintb
09-20-2009, 12:46 AM
Thank you very much :001_smile: :001_smile: :001_smile:

mountaintb
09-20-2009, 01:09 AM
Sorry,

Ok 29,8, but what does it mean, the rail goes only to 16!!!:confused1:

hindenhaag
09-21-2009, 06:45 AM
Hallo again,

Look to the picture of the D3. This is for the 70-200/f2.8VR at zoom 200.

With your zoom 200 this reference is to find 29,8mm behind your sensor plane. Similar to the foto of the D3 with the laser. The laser is 5.5mm behind the sensor plane of the D3.

So what to do: take the upper rail forward, mount your camera on the upper rail and move forward, till the rotation point of the NN3 is round about 29.8mm behind your sensor mark of the camerabody. Compare my laser line which is in the middle of the stand for the upper rail = rotationpoint of the NN5. And then take your test fotos in this postion, when it is the right position, right down what you can read with the mark of the camera plate on the upper rails ruler. This is your upper rail setting.

So please try to compare what i wrote with the pictures of the D3. Move the body forward till the distance between the Sensor Plane mark of D700 to the middle of the stand of NN3 is 29.8mm. But measure to the back of the camera!!! The camera will be ca. 30 mm in front of the middle of the upper rails stand.

Sorry, this is all i can tell you about it.

Heinz

2BeCalifornian
12-12-2009, 01:12 AM
Hi Mountaintb,

I have the same setup!

I found out that there is no need to worry about NPPs if your panoramic picture does not involve any close-by object - especially at 200mm.

Had you mentioned a 12-24mm lens for architectural work, my answer would have been different.

So, if you are shooting landscapes, position your (heavy) lens where it makes sense to be stable and...Enjoy!

Cheers!

Philippe

jeromebg
10-26-2010, 06:08 AM
Hi there, I also have a 80-200 and would like to shoot giga panoramas, the problem is that I have the NN5-L witout the rd16 rotator...
At 200mm how many photos do you have to take for a 360° row ? (so every ?°)
The max on the rd16 seems to be every 2.5°, with the detent ring version it's 10°...
So the question is is 2.5° allright at 200mm ?
Thanx for your help !!!

John Houghton
10-27-2010, 12:02 AM
For a 200mm focal length on a fullframe camera, the field of view is 6.87° x 10.29°. (PTGui tells you that if you input an image and specify the lens type appropriately). Shooting at a yaw increment of 5° (72 around) would give you 27% overlap, which is adequate.

John

hindenhaag
10-27-2010, 04:46 AM
As John already told you, it is 5° with 72 stops. So either you have to try to get a RD16 Rotator, where you can use it on the fly using two detend plungers, or with the NN5L rotator. This means you have to try to set an extra stop manually in between the 10° click stops. I think you have to give it a try to see what happens. And if it works after a longer time of practice.

May be you ask Vincen if there is something in stock to upgrade?

Regards,
Heinz

Vincèn
10-27-2010, 07:01 AM
May be you ask Vincen if there is something in stock to upgrade?
R-D16 is in stock right now :)

Vincèn

jeromebg
10-27-2010, 08:20 AM
try to set an extra stop manually in between the 10° click stops. I think you have to give it a try to see what happens. And if it works after a longer time of practice.

Thanx John & Heinz, you're right, I'm going to give a try this way, and then buy a RD16 if it's too hard...

Vincent, I didn't found any RD16 on your website to be sold on his own ???

Vincèn
10-27-2010, 08:49 AM
Vincent, I didn't found any RD16 on your website to be sold on his own ???
Just in the rotator section :D http://magasin.skivr.com/materiel/positionneurs.html

Vincèn