PDA

View Full Version : ninja for D3 + 16mm fisheye



eddiejoker
06-13-2009, 08:00 PM
Hi all,
I'm going to buy a Nodal Ninja Pano head...
May I know which Nunja is best for D3 + 16mm fisheye?
thanks!!

nick fan
06-13-2009, 10:28 PM
Hi all,
I'm going to buy a Nodal Ninja Pano head...
May I know which Nunja is best for D3 + 16mm fisheye?
thanks!!


you need NN5 series for D3.

Nick

Bill Bailey
06-15-2009, 06:19 AM
Hi all,
I'm going to buy a Nodal Ninja Pano head...
May I know which Nunja is best for D3 + 16mm fisheye?
thanks!!

The Nodal Ninja 5L would be a great option for you. And the price is right as well - on sale for only $349.95 (you'll save $50).
http://store.nodalninja.com/product_p/n5l-pkg.htm
thx
Bill

hindenhaag
06-15-2009, 07:19 AM
Hallo,

it might worth th 50$ when you like to use heavier lenses as well for e.g. 14-24mm/f2.8, 24-70mm/f2.8, or even the 70-200mm/f2.8. With heavier lenses you should have the lock of the NN5w. It really serves a lot. I am happy with this!!.

Rail stops for 16mm/f2.8 D3 is 86 on the lower and 68 on the upper rail.

Heinz

hindenhaag
06-15-2009, 07:22 AM
Hi

For example : 14-24/f2.8

Heinz

eddiejoker
06-16-2009, 05:38 PM
Hi all, great thanks for your reply.

if I consider to go for Ninja 5.
Which rotator do you prefer? Rotator R-D16? If I'm not wrong D16 is for larger lens too when compare to D8??

thanks.

hindenhaag
06-17-2009, 01:00 AM
Hi,

the RD 16 give you a much greater variety for using lenses you might like to use in the future. The nikkor 70-200mm/f2.8 in 105 mm focal length will ask you round about 40 pictures for an 30% overlap in portrait mode: 7,5 degree = 48 stops. Rotator RD 16. No chance with RD8. Even in landscape mode it will be around 26 stops.

As described RD8 is up to 55mm, RD16 up to 450mm. If you now buy a RD8 Rotator set, this will cost you round about $200 to change it into a RD16 rotator later on.

You owing a D3, i would recommend you to get a NN5w (has the stops in the upper rail) with a RD 16 Rotator. I just spend this amount of money to change from RD12 to RD16. Don't forget to order an EZ-Leveller II as well.

But it is your decision.

Good luck

Heinz

eddiejoker
06-20-2009, 12:09 PM
Hi all,
thanks very much! information are really useful.

So, if I use D3 + Sigma8mm circular fisheye, is Nodal Ninja 5 w/ RD16 Rotator enough? or I need to purchase other accessories?? thanks!

P.S. I'm planning to buy sigma 8mm too.

eddiejoker
06-23-2009, 05:31 PM
anybody knows it?? thanks!

hindenhaag
06-24-2009, 07:12 AM
Hi,

following me you do not need additional accessories for the camera lens combination. Add a two or three ways leveler for the flashlight shoe and a shutter release Nikon MC35 which i use in most cases or go for a wireless one. This is very usefull to avoid movements releasing your camera.

Go out and have fun

Heinz

John Houghton
06-24-2009, 03:59 PM
So, if I use D3 + Sigma8mm circular fisheye, is Nodal Ninja 5 w/ RD16 Rotator enough? or I need to purchase other accessories?? thanks!
The NN5 + RD16 will enable you to shoot a panorama perfectly well. The RD16 rotator has detents from 3 to 96. You only need 3 stops with FX format.

John

eddiejoker
06-24-2009, 06:56 PM
The NN5 + RD16 will enable you to shoot a panorama perfectly well. The RD16 rotator has detents from 3 to 96. You only need 3 stops with FX format.

John

hi john, thanks for reply.
greaaaaaat thanks... I shall go for it then!! :001_smile: thanks.

eddiejoker
06-24-2009, 06:57 PM
Hi,

following me you do not need additional accessories for the camera lens combination. Add a two or three ways leveler for the flashlight shoe and a shutter release Nikon MC35 which i use in most cases or go for a wireless one. This is very usefull to avoid movements releasing your camera.

Go out and have fun

Heinz

Hi Heinz,
thanks for your advise too!

Civoksay
07-02-2009, 12:09 AM
Hi Eddie,

Might be able to get away with using a NodalNinja 3 if you're using a short lens, but I'd definitely go for a NodalNinja5 instead. Heavy gear requires good sturdy equipment. If you don't have a leveling head already, you might want to get one of those too. It'll make for straight panoramics every time

-Nick

tomreid
07-22-2009, 01:45 PM
On an older NN3, what would be the stop settings for a D3 and 16mm? Would they be the same?

Also, need the stop settings for a D3 and 20mm.

Thanks!

Just shooting a quick test Friday and need to know...

nick fan
07-23-2009, 12:56 AM
On an older NN3, what would be the stop settings for a D3 and 16mm? Would they be the same?

Also, need the stop settings for a D3 and 20mm.

Thanks!

Just shooting a quick test Friday and need to know...


D1/2/3 or camera with battery grip is too big for NN3.


Nick

Bill Bailey
07-23-2009, 06:29 AM
On an older NN3, what would be the stop settings for a D3 and 16mm? Would they be the same?
Also, need the stop settings for a D3 and 20mm.
Thanks!
Just shooting a quick test Friday and need to know...

There isn't enough adjustment room on the NN3 for the D3 so it is not possible to rotate the camera/lens around the no parallax point which defeats the purpose of the pano head. And the camera is also too heavy so you could break it voiding any warranty. D3 users need to step into the NN5 series pano heads.

hindenhaag
07-23-2009, 10:21 AM
Hi Tom,

i do not think that an NN3 will work cause of the weight of the D3. You should use a NN5. But try yourself, the lower rail setting for the NN5 are 86 for the lower and and 68 on the upper rail.

The 20mm lenses nnp is according to swissarmyfork 68,5 mm from the film plane = sensor plane. Distance lens flange / sensor plane is 46.5 mm. So measure ca 64mm from the lensflange, mark it on your lens, bring this above the rotation point of the NN3 and read your rail settings.

cheers,

Heinz

hindenhaag
08-08-2009, 09:28 AM
Hi Tom,

I suppose the rail settings should be the same for upper and lower rail. Just test it.

Heinz