PDA

View Full Version : Just got new QR System but need help



jmardy
01-31-2009, 12:25 AM
Hi all.
At the risk of sounding like I'm, um, mentally challenged...
Can someone help me to configure the QR plate?
I'm using a Canon 5D with a battery grip that creates a 10mm offset.
No matter what I do I can't seem to get the lens centered (when pointing directly down).
Also, I can't tighten the handle on the QR plate because it interferes with the upper rail. Am I supposed to use the original camera mounting plate (http://store.nodalninja.com/product_p/n-cp1.htm) to get enough clearance?
A photo would really be helpful.
Thanks

-John

nick fan
01-31-2009, 04:04 AM
Hi all.
At the risk of sounding like I'm, um, mentally challenged...
Can someone help me to configure the QR plate?
I'm using a Canon 5D with a battery grip that creates a 10mm offset.
No matter what I do I can't seem to get the lens centered (when pointing directly down).
Also, I can't tighten the handle on the QR plate because it interferes with the upper rail. Am I supposed to use the original camera mounting plate (http://store.nodalninja.com/product_p/n-cp1.htm) to get enough clearance?
A photo would really be helpful.
Thanks

-John


firstly mount the QR plate in a direction that can cancel the off-set. Adjust the distance so that it is 10mm offset from center.
secondly make sure the QR plate is square to the battery grip. You can use ruler, rectangular objects such as cards as aiming aid.

the QR clamp handle is adjustable. Tighten it, pull out the handle, reverse it to the initial position and tighten it again. You may need to repeat the process a few times.



Nick

jmardy
01-31-2009, 05:03 PM
Thanks Nick,
Didn't know the handle pulls out, that makes all the difference.
Well, that and not trying to adjust your pano head at midnight after 3 glasses of wine. :biggrin: