Hardware for Spherical Panoramic images using Canon Powershot G9 [Archive] - Nodal Ninja Forum

PDA

View Full Version : Hardware for Spherical Panoramic images using Canon Powershot G9



fisherg
05-07-2008, 05:27 PM
Hi,
I recently purchased the Canon Powershot G9.
I would like to get into the realm of taking full spherical panoramic images.

What hardware would I need for this?
I know I need a fisheye converter, which one would you recommend? Would the VR head it be compatible with this camera?
What other hardware would I need to attach the camera to the VR head?
Would the NN3 work with this camera+fisheye converter ? or would I need the NN5?

What special features would I need in the tripod?

Thank you for your help.

Guy.

Vincèn
05-08-2008, 12:34 AM
Hi,

Fisheye lens is absolutely not mandatory, you can do a lot of 360¬? panorama with regular wide angle lens :001_smile: So you should be able to shot complete panorama with Canon G9 :001_smile:
All you need is a tripod to mount your NN3 on it, install your G9 on it and then find nodal point of G9 (be careful it moves between different lens settings), and then do all your shots.
Once done, use a panorama software such as PTGui, or AutoPano Pro, or Realviz Stitcher (well that last one might become difficult to find as company has been bought yesterday by Autodesk :sad:

Hope it helps :wink:

Vinc?®n

nick fan
05-08-2008, 03:23 AM
Hi,
I recently purchased the Canon Powershot G9.
I would like to get into the realm of taking full spherical panoramic images.

What hardware would I need for this?
I know I need a fisheye converter, which one would you recommend? Would the VR head it be compatible with this camera?
What other hardware would I need to attach the camera to the VR head?
Would the NN3 work with this camera+fisheye converter ? or would I need the NN5?

What special features would I need in the tripod?

Thank you for your help.

Guy.


there are 3 fisheye converters that work well. Nikon FC-E8/ FC-E9, Raynox DCR-CF185 Pro. Instead of NN3II, you may want to consider the coming NN180.
http://nodalninja.com/forum/index.php?topic=92.0

nick

Frate
05-08-2008, 05:06 AM
Hi,
I recently purchased the Canon Powershot G9.
I would like to get into the realm of taking full spherical panoramic images.

What hardware would I need for this?
I know I need a fisheye converter, which one would you recommend? Would the VR head it be compatible with this camera?
What other hardware would I need to attach the camera to the VR head?
Would the NN3 work with this camera+fisheye converter ? or would I need the NN5?

What special features would I need in the tripod?

Thank you for your help.

Guy.


Guy,

I'm using the G9 now with the NN3. It works like a charm for spherical panos without a fisheye. It does take a LOT of pics to get there, but the quality is higher. I go that route because my output is to large format print. If you're aiming for smaller print, or electronic distribution, fisheye is the way to go.

The most important thing to me on the tripod is the stability (spend more for a good one) and my 3-way head (or you could get a leveller). I wish I had a multiposition center column so that I could lay it across the tripod to get the lower nadir, buy I do well enough for now.

Good luck,

- Dean

bigwade
05-08-2008, 12:06 PM
Only problem with the G9 is the lack of remote.
So you have to push the button every time (and can move the tripod)
I have one myself and made some cilindrical pano's without a panohead but with a RRS L bracket directly mounted on de tripod.
If you have enough overlap it works.
I like the manual function, raw and live view of my G9 very much but the lack of a remote is :-((
Another thing is that pixels from a compact are not as "clean" as a DSLR, fact.
For print it's great !
Have Fun !

nick fan
05-09-2008, 08:26 AM
Only problem with the G9 is the lack of remote.


Hi Frank,

Is there an IR remote? I can't imagine Canon removed this future as many cheaper cameras have this feature.


nick

Terrywoodenpic
05-09-2008, 09:52 AM
Hi Frank,

Is there an IR remote? I can't imagine Canon removed this future as many cheaper cameras have this feature.


nick



Yes. canon in their wisdom removed it.
However I have seen at least one device advertised,that attaches a cable release in a somewhat Heath Robinson fashion.

bigwade
05-09-2008, 09:56 AM
@Nick
Nope....

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=387350

just this one:
http://kleptography.com/rf/

Canon made a big mistake !!
Have Fun

Frate
05-14-2008, 05:02 PM
just this one:
http://kleptography.com/rf/

Canon made a big mistake !!
Have Fun


Canon indeed made a big mistake. On the other hand, I love Richard Franiec's cable release adapter. It works like a charm!
I got mine (as well as a boatload of other options for the G9 here - definitely buy the grip and thumb rest!!!) here at Lensmate http://www.lensmateonline.com/newsite/order_G7_1.html. This company is fantastic!! Don Ellis will back that up too.

- Dean

bigwade
05-16-2008, 04:29 PM
Aha, the cable release is updated now ?
Problem is still that it can't released with a radio control.
I wished it had a XT solution.
Maybe the G10 :-)

BTW by Firmware "hacking" the usb port can be used for other remotes..
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK_firmware_usage
For G7 now but more to come.
I am not a fan of this and would like to see Canon solved this problem.
Have Fun